A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

A Duck is a Duck is a Duck–The Duck Test

Posted by lindamartinandersen on January 11, 2013


“A Duck is a Duck is a Duck–The Duck Test” by Linda Martin Andersen

“A Writer’s Playground”–A place to find wordplay, writing, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart.

Today’s post is all about word play.  I am focusing on ducks. 

No, it’s not Duck Day. 

It is a special day for a friend of mine who loves ducks.  For that reason, I’m sending her a few links about ducks that I think she will enjoy reading and/or listening to. I certainly hope you will also.

Expressions About Ducks.  Do you know these?

Songs/Videos:

Childhood Games:

Celebrity Ducks:

Celebration Featuring a Duck:

Charity Event with Ducks:

Entertainment:

Location, Location, Location: 

Search Engine:

Books About Ducks:

Product Details

  • And because my friend, Joan Y. Edwards, is celebrating a birthday and she has a published book about a little duck, I’m also featuring  Flip Flap Floodle here.

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Flip-Flap-Floodle-Joan-Edwards/dp/1594572852/

Barnes & Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/flip-flap-floodle?r=1

Happy birthday Joan!

May you always carry Flip Flap Floodle’s song in your heart.  I hope you’re feeling ducky, birthday girl!

Love,

Linda

To help us all remember Flip’s song, here’s Joan to sing it for us.  http://www.joanyedwards.com/FlipFlapFloodle.htm  Just beware–if you sing it, it becomes a part of you. 

Please join me in wishing Joan Edwards a Happy Birthday!

*Quacking noises echo off the walls, ceilings, and floors and travel all the way to her home.*

Copyright © 2013 Linda Martin Andersen

41 Responses to “A Duck is a Duck is a Duck–The Duck Test”

  1. Maureen Wartski said

    Wow! I never knew so much about ducks! It’s amazing how you get all these facts… Which are fun to read too.
    Greedy job as always, Linda!

    • Dear Maureen, Thanks for stopping by and forming part of Duck Brigade. I appreciate it. It was a fabulously ducky Birthday I had, thanks to Linda, and to sweet people like you, Maureen.
      I hope you day is filled with much joy and time to play!
      Love you,
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

  2. Maureen,
    So glad you could stop by and visit. You are so good to leave comments too. I’m glad you enjoyed the variety about ducks. I hope you left the site with at least one new thing to think about today. Hope your day is ducky!

  3. You know, I wrote my comment on my tablet… which isn’t always reliable! I meant ‘great’ not greedy in the above. You knew that, right???:<

  4. joyacey said

    Three Little Ducks that I once knew,
    Linda and Joan and then me too,
    All came waddling for cake and stew.
    Just to wish a Happy Birthday to you.

    You should see the actions that go with this one.
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY JOAN.
    Thanks for all the info on ducks, Linda.
    Fun post.

    • Joy,
      This is hilarious! I wish I could see the motions too! Thanks for sharing your duck poem about the three of us. You are such a delight! What fun!

    • Dear Joy,
      What a cool poem! I love it.
      I love waddling along with you and Linda in your poem. What a happy place to be! Thank you for your Happy Birthday wishes. They came true! I had a wonderful birthday. I’m still celebrating! Celebrate you and your gift of fun poetry and friendship.
      Never Give UP
      Joan Y. Edwards

  5. so sweet of you to honor Joan this way, Linda!

    • Carol,
      I’ve had a blast getting this one ready. Thanks for the compliment. It was my pleasure! Thanks for commenting! You’re a great friend too.

    • Dear Carol,
      Thanks for swimming by to say hello on my Birthday. I appreciate it very much. It’s truly a blessing that Linda Andersen looked up all these ducky facts to honor me and my love of ducks. Both of you are jewels for being my friends.
      Celebrate your gift of writing.
      Never Give Up!
      Joan Y. Edwards

  6. Happy Birthday, Joan!
    Today is my cousin’s birthday too. Two great gals.
    What a wonderful tribute you gave to Joan, Linda. And you brought back so many wonderful childhood memories. Duck, duck, goose and Rubber Ducky are two of my favorites! 🙂

  7. Happy Birthday, Joan! You’re one sweet bird! And hats off to you Linda, for all the great ducky research.

    • Juliana,
      Thanks for visiting to wish Joan a happy birthday. I appreciate that you left a comment and I appreciate the compliment about the post. I enjoyed searching for fun things. Please come again soon. Thanks!

    • Dear Juliana,
      Thanks for your Happy Birthday wishes. My birthday was fun from the very beginning and is still going on. Goodness! You are so sweet to stop by. I appreciate it and I thank Linda for finding out all this wonderful ducky info to keep all of our ducks having fun!
      Celebrate you and your playfulness.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

  8. Jo hackl said

    Happy birthday Joan! Hope your day has gone swimmingly! Linda, what a nice tribute! I’m sending best wishes to you both for a healthy, happy and creative year ahead!

    Jo Hackl

    • Jo,
      How lovely to hear from you. Thanks for wishing Joan a happy birthday and for wishing us both a happy and creative year ahead. I’m glad you thought this was a nice tribute. I enjoyed being playful while creating something for someone special all at the same time. Please stop in again when you can. I hope your year is outstanding and all you could wish for it to be.

    • Dear Jo,
      What a nice surprise! Thank you for stopping by. I love hearing from you. My birthday went swimmingly well because of Linda’s fun post and your stopping by. It’s an honor to be remembered by you and Linda on my birthday. Linda is an all weather friend. She has been my friend since 2005. She is definitely a blessing from God. I hope your writing is going great. Celebrate you and your love of fun!
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

  9. Dear Linda,
    Oh, my Gosh! Linda you are so sweet. What a very pleasant surprise! I love the links to different great duck stories, sayings, and celebrations. Thank you very much. You are such a sweet ducky! You fill my heart with song!
    [audio src="http://www.joanyedwards.com/FlipFlapFloodlesSong.wav" /]

    I’m having a Flip Flap Floodle, fantastic, outstanding birthday! Thank you, Linda.
    May all your ducks be in a row singing your favorite song!
    Celebrate you and your sense of fun today!
    You honor me in so many ways.
    Your Friendship
    Sharing your ideas
    Sharing your life
    Sharing your love
    Sharing your faith
    Sharing your sense of fun
    Sharing your laughter
    Sharing your family

    Thank you very much for creating this post in my honor.
    Thank you for being my friend.
    Thank you for traveling life’s path with me and Flip Flap Floodle.
    Wow! You’re the best!

    Thank you.

    Never Give Up
    Joan Y. Edwards

    • Joan,
      You are so very welcome for this post in your honor and for our friendship! I enjoyed locating each and every bit of ducky trivia and presenting it to you and to my faithful blog readers. You and I have certainly had a lot of fun traveling life’s path and detouring to splash in the puddles. Tee hee! I know your birthday was one for the books. I’ve enjoyed hearing about first one celebration and then another. Glad you had so much fun and I could be a part of it. Keep Flip’s song in your heart! Love ya!

  10. Susan Williams said

    Quack, quack, quack! Happy, birthday, Joan.

  11. […] Last Friday, January 11th, was my birthday. I thought it was going to be an ordinary birthday. However, it wasn’t. First, my friend, Linda Andersen, wrote a blog post in my honor because I love ducks and wrote Flip Flap Floodle. Thank you, Linda: https://lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/a-duck-is-a-duck-is-a-duck-the-duck-test/ […]

  12. Hi Joan,
    You’re so very welcome for the blog post in your honor. I’m headed over to read the rest at your site. I hope others join me.

  13. […] Linda is a great friend. She knows I love ducks. On January 11, 2013, my birthday, she posted “A Duck Is a Duck Is a Duck – The Duck Test:” https://lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/a-duck-is-a-duck-is-a-duck-the-duck-test/ […]

Please Leave a Reply

 
