A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Talk on the Playground…NYC Grand Central Terminal and Etch-A-Sketch

Posted by lindamartinandersen on February 10, 2013


“Talk on the Playground…NYC Grand Central Terminal and Etch-A-Sketch” by Linda Martin Andersen

“A Writer’s Playground”–A place to find wordplay, writing, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart.

Did you hear that New York

City’s Grand Central

Terminal is celebrating its 100th

birthday?

Do you know this

expression? “Busy as Grand Central Station.”

Happy 100th birthday on February 1, 2013, Grand Central Terminal!   Celebrations will continue throughout 2013.  For details go to www.grandcentralterminal.com/centennial.

At one time, the Grand Central Terminal was in danger of the wrecking ball.   Now it is protected by a 1978 Supreme Court ruling that gave cities the right to protect historic buildings.

Today, Grand Central Terminal is one of the world’s most popular tourist sites.  It has served as a movie backdrop numerous times.  Have you ever visited Grand Central Terminal?  I have not, but I have heard the expression about Grand Central Station all my life.

Please leave a comment about a time you heard the expression, “Busy as Grand Central Station?” Or tell of a time you visited the famous terminal.

Did you hear that Andre Cassagnes, the inventor of the

Etch-A-Sketch, died?   

A recent article in the newspaper, told of the death of Andre Cassagnes, the inventor of the Etch-A-Sketch.  The toy was launched in 1960 and since then over 100 million have sold.  Etch-A-Sketch was also featured in the first two “Toy Story” movies.

Did you ever own an Etch-A-Sketch?  What did you like to draw on its surface?  What is a favorite memory of playing with this toy?  Why do you think it was so popular?  Please share a comment or a favorite memory.

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.” Please come again soon.  Bring a friend. 

Copyright © 2013 Linda Martin Andersen

10 Responses to “Talk on the Playground…NYC Grand Central Terminal and Etch-A-Sketch”

  1. joycemoyerhostetter said

    I’m actually surprised to learn this was only built in 1913! Would have guess earlier. I love big old stations like this. I’ve experienced more in Europe than in US but yes, I’ve been through this one a time or two. A decade or two ago!

  2. Joyce,
    It’s great that Grand Central Station wasn’t destroyed. Happy 100th birthday all year long. I’m glad you’ve been there and to others in Europe. What a rich life full of history you lead. No wonder you write historical fiction.

  3. Ah, the Etch-A-Sketch. One of my favorite childhood drawing tools. Maybe that’s when my love of drawing started? That’s sad the inventor has passed on. I bet sales will sky-rocket now 🙂

    • Tracy,
      I wouldn’t be surprised if the Etch-A-Sketch didn’t have something to do with your art skills. It brought hours of pleasure to anyone who gave it a try. I hope the sales sky-rocket as a tribute to the inventor.

  4. Dear Linda,
    Thank you for another outstanding blog post about super-interesting things. I’ve never been to Grand Central Station but I went to Union Station in Washington, D.C. when I used to live in Falls Church, Virginia. I imagine I picked up a few relatives there. Union Station is a preserved Historic Building, too. It was officially opened in October, 1907.

    I’ve always enjoyed using the etch a sketch. It seems like magic when you draw with it. It’s fun to create designs on it. I loved seeing in in Toy Story 1 and 2.

    Celebrate you.
    Never Give Up
    Joan Y. Edwards

    • Joan,
      I’m so glad you found this post super-interesting. I enjoyed sharing it. I wonder how Union Station and Grand Central Station compare in size. How informative to learn that Union Station is older. I used to visit an aunt in Falls Church, VA. I wish I had visited Union Station while I was there. Oh well, maybe on another outing.

      I bet a lot of kids would agree with your description of the Etch-A-Sketch–like magic. I loved using one too. I heard sales increased after the Etch-A-Sketch was featured in the Toy Story movies.

  5. Kathleen said

    I did have an etch a sketch and really liked it. However, I was not that good at it and my best work was drawing stairs! 🙂 I was so jealous of the character ELF when he drew a beautiful scene on the etch a sketch!

  6. I LOVED my Etch-A-Sketch, and I was delighted to find smaller new versions got my grandchildren. But I never knew the name of the creator. Thanks for telling me!

    • Marylin,
      I didn’t know the creator’s name either until I read a newspaper article all about him, after his death. He brought many hours of joy to generations of people. Even some adults admit drawing on one well beyond their childhood years.

      I’m glad your grandchildren enjoyed playing with newer versions. Thanks for commenting. It’s delightful to have you join the regulars on the playground.

Please Leave a Reply

 
