A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

“A Writer’s Playground” is Celebrating Its First Birthday. Let’s Parade in Our Favorite Hats!

Posted by lindamartinandersen on May 6, 2013


“A Writer’s Playground” is Celebrating Its First Birthday.  Let’s Parade in Our Favorite Hats! by Linda Martin Andersen

“A Writer’s Playground”–A place to find wordplay, writing, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart.

As you may have noticed, I always wear a jester hat on my blog.  I have encouraged readers to guess why.

https://lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/about-me/

https://lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/about-my-writing/

One reader guessed why I wear a jester hat.  There’s a prize in it for you, Tracy Campbell.  Tracy’s prize…a birthday hat.  Actually, it’s a headband with birthday candles.  Tracy, please send me your address and I’ll mail you the hat.  Congratulations!  I hope you’ll enjoy wearing it.

photo

So why do I wear a jester hat?  To remind myself to never lose my jingle (sense of humor).  Years ago, I began reading children The Jester Has Lost His Jingle, a picture book written and illustrated by David Saltzman.  The story also promotes the character trait of caring.  A friend decided I needed my own jester hat to wear while sharing this book; so, she bought me one.  I wear it on my blog to promote laughter and caring.   Learn more about the picture book and the author here:  https://lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/2012/12/23/c-a-r-i-n-g-character-trait-of-december/

I’d like to encourage you to  join the Favorite Hat Parade to celebrate my blog’s birthday.

If you’ll email me at landersen74@yahoo.com  and send a copy of  a photo of you in a favorite hat, I will include all photos in my next blog post.  Are you willing?  If you would rather not send a photo, email a memory of a time you wore a hat.  Why is it a favorite memory?  What is the setting?  How old were you?  Would you wear the hat today, if you could?  I’ll include these comments as well.  Let the parade begin.

Hat’s off to you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.” Please come again soon.  Bring a friend. 

Copyright © 2013 Linda Martin Andersen

6 Responses to ““A Writer’s Playground” is Celebrating Its First Birthday. Let’s Parade in Our Favorite Hats!”

  1. Good for you for laughing and smiling and enjoying life! I think I’ll just have to email a pix to you!1

  2. Thanks Carol. I appreciate the compliments. We should enjoy our life!

    Thanks for the pix too. I’m looking forward to my next post already!

  3. Maureen Wartski said

    I love hats. I always loved the big, Scarlett O’hata type hats… But being short, they make me look like a mushroom! So I cpntent myself with smaller chapeaux. 🙂

    • Maureen,
      A mushroom? No way! You’d look lovely in anything you put on. Do you have a favorite scarf for your head? A visor? Whatever covering you choose is acceptable. Join the fun!

  4. Yahoo! You are a jester, Linda. I absolutely love my prize!!! Hmm…do you remember the red hat society? Perhaps you’ve started the wacky hat society. Thank you! And I’ll put my thinking cap on and try and come up with a time I wore a hat. I love this idea. Happy Birthday again to you yesterday and to your blogoversary! 🙂

    • The wacky hat society? What fun that group would have! If not the organizer, I’d like to be a member. Wouldn’t you? Tracy, I’m so happy that you guessed why I wear a jester hat. Don’t forget to send me your address in an email and I’ll send the birthday candle headband right out to you–my prize winner. I hope you’ll also send a photo and a memory for the Fashion Hat Parade. I look forward to it.

Please Leave a Reply

 
