A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Dear Diary, How Can I Prove It?

Posted by lindamartinandersen on September 22, 2013


“Dear Diary, How Can I Prove It…” by Linda Martin Andersen

“A Writer’s Playground”–A place to find wordplay, writing, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart.

September 22, 2013 is “Dear Diary Day.” 

Do you keep a diary?  Have you ever?  Does your diary have a key so that you can lock away your thoughts?  Perhaps you keep a journal instead.   I’m not all together sure how they’re different.  What would you say?

Dear Diary (Age 11)

When I was eleven, I went with my grandparents on a vacation road trip.  We traveled from North Carolina to Canada, where my grandfather attended an insurance conference, and then we traveled on to California to visit my aunt, uncle, and new baby cousin.  We stopped at national parks along the way there and back.  I was very fortunate to see lots of great sites.  I recorded some notes along the way, thanks to my grandmother’s encouragement.  She bought a diary for the two of us.  I found it interesting how different our entries were.  She started out with a description of the weather.  Not me.  I didn’t care if it was 96 and clear.  It was summer.  It was supposed to be hot and sunny. 

Books About Diaries

I enjoy reading books that contain diary entries.  How about you?  When I was a child, The Diary of Anne Frank was one of my favorites.  Today, I still enjoy diary entries, even ones about a worm (The Diary of a Worm).   It’s fun to see the world from different points of view, like in The Diary of a Wimpy Kid.  Maybe I’ll check out The Vampire Diaries next.  What about you?

Dear Diary (Age–Many Candles),

How can I prove it?… 

I left a comment on a friend’s blog today.  Before I could sign off, I had to type in a code–a group of letters and numbers to prove that I am not a robot.  I knew it had been a while since I visited this blog, but what made the site suspicious that I might be a robot?  Another friend’s blog still requires me to prove that I’m not a robot, even though I visit nearly every day.  Can’t the site recognize me by now?  I’m not wearing a disguise.  How would you like it if a friend asked you to prove who you were each time you met?  And how would typing a few letters and numbers prove your identity?  Can’t robots type?  Hmmm…

Have you ever had someone stand you down, look you in the eye, and command, “Prove it!”  Did they ask you to type letters and numbers to prove yourself?  To prove your identity?  Probably not.

Signing off,

999xyzLMNOP (Today’s proof of who I am)

Try a One Liner

Don’t want to write a diary entry?  Try a one liner.  What is a one liner?  Check here:  http://www.thefreedictionary.com/one-liner  Write a one liner you might read in someone’s personal diary or a book written as a diary.  For example:  The Diary of Anne Frank–“I feel like screaming!”  or “The walls are closing in on me.”  One liner for The Diary of a Worm–“I’ve got some dirt to share with you.” (pun). 

 What word creates a pun in the example above?  “Dirt.”  What makes it a pun?  Check the definition of a pun here:  http://www.thefreedictionary.com/pun  Do you like to write puns?  I do.   It’s a type of word play and I like playing with words.  Some people enjoy pun humor.  Others roll their eyes when they hear them.  Which is true for you?

Write a diary entry today, a letter, a poem, a comment below.   If you like to write…Prove it!

Thanks for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.” Come again soon.  Bring a friend.

Copyright © 2013 Linda Martin Andersen

13 Responses to “Dear Diary, How Can I Prove It?”

  1. Kathleen said

    Linda, I love what you say about writing in the code to prove not a robot! I must be getting old because half the time I can’t read what I am supposed to be trying to type to prove that I am not a robot 🙂 I kept a diary when I was 11 and I decided to write entries in a secret code–well I came across it a few years after that and lost the code key! 🙂

    • Kathleen,
      I get what you mean about not being able to read the code that needs to be copied onto a blog post. Sometimes, the numbers look like they are floating in mountain mist.

      So the key to your diary’s secret code needs to be solved. A challenge! I can see you including that in another children’s book. That could be a fun mystery to solve.

      Thanks so much for sharing your diary experience. It’s always great to hear from you.

  2. I had a diary when I was a tweenie and when I was a teenager, too. It had a lock on it! I wrote my secrets in that little book– and some of the most secretive secrets I wrote in code!! One of the most famous diarists was Pepys, who used to write ‘and so to bed,’ at the end of each entry… Thank you for memories.

    • Maureen,
      I’m so glad my post helped you to recall precious memories about keeping a diary. Your comment made me smile. I need to research Pepys, the famous diarist, you mentioned. Writing a diary entry before retiring to bed would be a great discipline and a record of the blessings of the day.

      Thank goodness I kept a diary during my summer vacation road trip. I’d call it my best souvenier.

      Thanks for commenting here. Please come again soon.

  3. Ah yes, a diary. Had one long ago. Here’s why I don’t have one. “Dear Diary, I’m madder than a hopping rabbit. Mom snuck into my underware drawer and read all of my top secrets!!!! UGH.”

    • Tracy,
      I understand why you decided to quit keeping a diary. In your mom’s defense, I bet most moms would have done the same thing as yours..

      Thanks for sharing your experience with keeping a diary. I enjoyed hearing about it. I look forward to your next visit here.

      • Oh, you would have to stick up for Mom’s. LOL

        Anyhoo, my writing friend, Clar just wrote a post about diaries too. Here’s her link.

        Notebooks and Journals Part One


        I told her about your post. Perhaps the two of your should link up if you don’t know each other already.
        And I said great minds think alike. 🙂
        I’ll respond to your emails tomorrow. It’s getting late. Nite, nite. 🙂

      • Tracy,
        I guess there’s no way to get out of this one gracefully. Reminder to self: Never get in an argument, even an old one, between mother and daughter. 😉

        Thanks for including the link to Clar’s site. I checked it out. Hopefully other followers will too. She’s been keeping a journal since she was 15. Go Clar! Thanks for sharing my blog link at Clar’s site. You’re such a great friend.

      • 😀

  4. Gretchen said

    I’ve never written a diary unless you count the journals I wrote when I was on a trip and wanted to remember specific details. They were more of a chore than a pleasure, so I stopped at the end of both trips. Now I do a blog and instead of a chore, it’s a pleasure. I guess I grew into it.

  5. Joan Y. Edwards said

    Dear Linda,
    I do not like the blog comments that have me do the codes in order to leave a message. Sometimes my message disappears and I have to write it all over again. I must confess that many times I get so frustrated that I don’t leave a comment,

    Celebrate you.

    Joan

  6. Joan,
    I agree with you. I don’t like the requirement to copy a code when you leave a comment. I have lost comments before too. Sometimes I highlight and copy my comments and have them ready to paste in case they disappear. Who wants to retype them when they were just the way you wanted. It felt good to get out my frustrations in a Dear Diary post. That’s one thing diaries are good for–an outlet for expressing feelings. Give a diary to someone you love!

Please Leave a Reply