A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Wrap a String Around Your Finger to Remind Yourself to Play

Posted by lindamartinandersen on November 16, 2013


“Wrap a String Around Your Finger to Remind Yourself to Play” by Linda Martin Andersen

“A Writer’s Playground”–A place to find wordplay, writing, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart.

Yes, today is National Day of Play.  Don’t forget.  Wrap a String Around Your Finger to Remind Yourself to Play.

Do you have play planned for today or will you find a way to play as you go?

Examples of Planned Play, you might try:

1.  Check the back of your sock drawer.  Do you have a bag of marbles from your childhood stashed out of view?

What if there are no children in your home or you donated the toy chest to charity?  What can you do?

2.  Perhaps you can invite a child from your family to visit or take him to the park.  It’s a mild day in my area, perhaps in yours too.  If the weather doesn’t permit outside play, look for old board games you no longer play or create games or stories of your own.

If no one can join you for play, what can you do?

1.  Check your storage area.  Do you have a bike that needs dusting off?  You get the benefit of exercise and fun too.

2.  Consider playing a  computer game.

Why not play as you go today?

My start to a day of play as I go:  I emptied a bottle of Palmolive detergent while washing breakfast dishes. I noticed that the cap’s style was different from the Joy container previously purchased.  I removed the Palmolive top and gave it a spin.  I felt kid-like.  I tried spinning it with the stopper open and with it closed.  I spun the other end.  I imagined playing with a friend–each person with his own spinning top.

It was fun.  The price was right–free.  The experience–freeing. 

What items do you sneak play with before discarding or recycling?  I have turned many empty oatmeal boxes into drums.  How about you?

If you missed my earlier post about National Day of Play and the National Toy Hall of Fame, check here: 

https://lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/2013/11/12/mark-your-calendars-for-a-day-of-play-november-16-2013/ 

Today’s post was inspired by a comment left earlier by a friend. Thanks, Joan…

My dear friend, Joan, left a comment sharing her joy of spinning tops.  I believe her comment led to my creative play with a common household item–a dish detergent top.  Thank you, Joan, for planting the seed for creative play.  Joan inspires many writers at her website and blog.  See here:  http://www.joanyedwards.com/ and http://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/

Check the National Toy Hall of Fame for the 53 inductees  famous for bringing hours of fun. 

http://www.toyhalloffame.org/toys

Have fun today and always!

Thanks for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Leave a comment if you’d like.  Let others know how you put a little play into each day.  Come again soon.  Bring a friend. 

Please note:   Children 14 and under are not allowed to leave comments. It’s against the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act. (COPPA)  See:  http://www.coppa.org/coppa.htm

Copyright © 2013 Linda Martin Andersen

13 Responses to “Wrap a String Around Your Finger to Remind Yourself to Play”

  1. Playing is SO important! I play all the time… with fabric, with words, with haiku… and here in Disney World we are playing a great deal. See us in the Tower of Terror? Wheee! Thanks for reminding us to play, Linda!

    • Maureen,
      I’m glad you take time to play at home and on vacation. It sounds like you’re enjoying Disney very much. I’m trying to see you there, but it’s hard to make you out. It’s pretty dark in the Tower of Terror. Sounds a little scary too! Thanks for the comments and for sharing how you play. Keep those haikus, stories, and books coming and of course your art prints too. I imagine your stay in Disney will influence a few projects to come. I’ll be watching for it.

  2. Hi Linda,
    I took the day off yesterday to play. Attended a country Christmas show with hubby. Your post made me realize we have to take time to play! 🙂

  3. Dear Linda,
    We all need to remember to play – no matter what our age is. Play is healing, I am sure of it.
    Thanks for all your neat posts about fun activities.

    • Joan,
      Yes, play most definitely must be healing. I’m glad you have enjoyed the posts about play and fun activities. Thanks so much for commenting and for complimenting too. You are a very faithful follower. Thank you.

  4. Dear Linda,
    Thank you for thanking me for telling you how much fun I had playing with tops and for even leaving a link to my blog and website. Now that was a very thoughtful thing to do. I do hope a few of your readers will find something fun on my website and blog. I had fun creating them. Shuckins, you say the nicest things. I can’t top you. Love and celebrations sent your way, Joan

    • Joan,
      You are welcome for the thank you and links to your blog and website. Your writing tips and information excite readers seeking to improve their skills and have fun doing so. You’re tops in my book.

  5. I’ll be playing alright, because there is a puppy at home right now.

  6. Yes, yes, I remember. Good photos and terrific artwork. So much talent in one household.

Please Leave a Reply

 
