A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Does Your Computer Have a Name?

Posted by lindamartinandersen on November 20, 2013


“Does Your Computer Have a Name?” by Linda Martin Andersen

“A Writer’s Playground”–A place to find wordplay, writing, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart.

November 20 is “Name Your PC Day.”  I’m taking the liberty to call it “Name Your PC or MAC Day.”

An aside… http://www.thefreedictionary.com/aside

When I was a child, ‘PC’ had two meanings–privileged character and pole cat (skunk). 

Whenever  a person was acting superior/haughty, someone might suggest that the person thought he was a PC (privileged character).  Someone else might add that he was a PC–a polecat.  I asked my husband if he had ever heard this comeback. http://www.thefreedictionary.com/comeback He hadn’t.  We grew up in the same town and we are only two years apart in age.  Anyway, when I heard that it was PC Day, that’s the direction my mind took, until it settled into thinking of computers, of course.

Thinking on things that are named… 

  •  Tracy Campbell, a writer and artist friend, has a Muse named Matilda.
Copyright--Tracy Campbell

Copyright–Tracy Campbell

http://tracycampbell.net/blog/my-blog-posts/  Smart thinking to name your Muse, Tracy.  Check here to shop for art samples featuring Matilda:  http://tracy-campbell.artistwebsites.com/featured/matilda-tracy-campbell.html   Check out greeting cards and her blog while you’re there.

Other things that are named:

Brainstorm names for your PC or MAC.  Have fun!

Copyright--Microsoft clip art

Copyright–Microsoft clip art

To get you started…

Brainstorm–what comes to mind when you think of your computer. 

This could lead to a name or nickname. 

Brainstorm and write potential names, no matter how unusual. 

When you think of your computer, do you think of–

1.   the sound of the keys?  Clickety-clack or Music Man

2.  the effort to locate the keys?  Hunt and Peck or  Zippidy-Doo-Da

3.  the emotional connection with your computer?  Best Buddy or Side Kick

4.  the primary purpose of your computer?  Novel One or Art Smart

5.  photos stored in your library?  My Treasure Chest

6. the connection with family and friends?  One of the Family or Family Friend

7. a relative’s name or a title of honor?  When I asked one of my family members what he’d name his  PC, he answered, “Mr. PC.” He said he’d choose, “Mr. Apple” for a MAC.

8.  Other ideas?

I decided if I was going to encourage you to name your computer, I should certainly name my own.  Because I count on my computer with my writing, I decided to select a name that shows its skills and dedication.  Here’s the name I chose.

Drum roll…My computer’s name is…Got What It Takes.

My morning greeting goes like this, “Good morning, Got What It Takes.”  When I type these words, the greeting echoes right back at me.  Like a mirror.  Now, that’s teamwork.  That’s positive affirmation.  Read “The Only 100 Positive Affirmations You Will Ever Need” by Farnoosh http://www.prolificliving.com/blog/2012/08/27/100-positive-affirmations/  My computer’s name reminds me of Affirmation #12 from this list: “I matter and what I have to offer this world also matters.”

Share one or more of your computer names from your list.   Now that you’ve chosen a name, why not greet your newly named friend?  Carry on a conversation.  It works for plants.  What about for a computer?

Thanks for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Leave a comment if you’d like, especially a computer name.  Come again soon.  Bring a friend. 

Please note:   Children 14 and under are not allowed to leave comments. It’s against the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act. (COPPA)  See:  http://www.coppa.org/coppa.htm

Copyright © 2013 Linda Martin Andersen

13 Responses to “Does Your Computer Have a Name?”

  1. Dear Linda,
    What a clever idea! I haven’t decided on a name for my computer yet. I enjoyed reading the affirmations by Farnoosh. Great for any day of the year. Tracy Campbell’s muse does really well. I love her pictures.

    Celebrate you.
    Never Give Up
    Joan Y. Edwards

  2. Hee hee, Linda,

    Not only does your computer have what it takes, but you definitely have what it takes to come up with ideas that stimulate my brain. I didn’t know a shunk is also called a pole cat, nor did I know PC stood for privileged character. Thank you for enlightening me.

    And wow, after Matilda saw her mug shot here, her head swelled so much she popped out of her mason jar. Now, I must go and catch her. Thank you, Linda for giving my art and blog attention.

    Have a super-duper day.

    P.S. I’ll have to think of a name for my many computers. 🙂

    • Tracy,

      You are welcome for the mention of your blog and website. It’s a great one. Happy to do it. I love that you named your Muse. I thought others would enjoy that too.

      Good luck hunting Matilda. Do you use a special bait for times like this? I hope I didn’t cause you too much trouble. Do you have a butterfly net?

      So glad you liked the post. Thanks for the compliments about it and about me. Good to know you now have new connections with PC as being something other than computers.

  3. never thought of this before, but I love “got what it takes!”

    • Hi Carol,
      I never thought of naming my computer either until seeing it listed as a day to observe. I’m glad you like the name I chose. Maybe a name will come to you for your computer too. It’s fun to think about.

  4. Gretchen said

    My desk computer is Big Bertha. (So is my golf club.)

    • Hi Gretchen,
      How funny! I’ve known others by that name, but never a computer. Love it! Thanks so much for sharing. Happy Thanksgiving to you and Big Bertha too. Thanks for visiting and for leaving a comment. Come again soon.

  5. Francie said

    We do call one of the MacBooks Mr. Silver. My own computer does not have a name.

    • Francie,
      Love the name, Mr. Silver. It reminds me of several things: The Lone Ranger’s horse, a speedy bullet, and a fast train or plane. Good one! Thanks so much for sharing. I hope you find just the right name for your personal computer.

      Come again soon!

Please Leave a Reply

 
