A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Christmas Crossword Puzzle for Crossword Puzzle Day

Posted by lindamartinandersen on December 21, 2013


“A Christmas Crossword Puzzle for Crossword Puzzle Day–December 21, 2013” by Linda Martin Andersen

“A Writer’s Playground”–A place to find wordplay, writing, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart.

Crossword Puzzle Day:  21  Do you like crossword puzzles?  Do you complete the ones in the newspaper?  Do you buy crossword puzzle books?  You can create your own at  www.puzzlemaker.com or other sites. 

For ten years, I developed a variety of activities for children’s bulletins for my church.  At times, I created Crossword puzzles based on the sermon theme and scripture. This service project brought me great joy.  

Here is a Christmas crossword puzzle I’d like to share.  Maybe, you’d be interested in creating activities for children in your church.  Perhaps a youth group would like to volunteer in this way.  

Christmas Crossword Puzzle–Luke 2: 8-12

Joan Y. Edwards, a dear friend and published author, offers Gospel-related crossword puzzles with devotions for all three liturgical cycles/years for Bible study on her website. Play and solve puzzles online or print them out. If you want to print multiple copies, please remember to ask permission. Check here:

 http://www.joanyedwards.com/crossword.html

Enjoy Crossword Puzzle Day.  Create a puzzle.  Solve a puzzle.  Share a puzzle. 

Thanks for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  I’d love to hear your comments.  Let others know how you use crossword puzzles–for learning new vocabulary words, spelling word lists, and creating comprehension questions for stories.  Come again soon.  Bring a friend.

I appreciate any children who visit this site, but you must be 14 or older to leave a comment according to Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act. (COPPA)  See:  http://www.coppa.org/coppa.htm  Perhaps an adult would comment for you.

Copyright © 2013 Linda Martin Andersen

26 Responses to “Christmas Crossword Puzzle for Crossword Puzzle Day”

  1. I am terrible at crossword puzzles! Many of my friends (and family) are experts, but in the world of crossword, I am a duffer. Even so, I enjoy attempting a puzzle… so I thank you for introducing me to the this challenge, Linda!

  2. Dear Linda,
    Thank you very much for posting a link to my Gospel-based crossword puzzle page on my website. I am honored. You are a good friend. I also have Wordsearch puzzles if the Crosswords don’t call you. Celebrate you and all you do to help others.

    Never Give Up
    Joan Y. Edwards

    • Joan,
      Thanks for letting me link to your abundance of Gospel crossword puzzles and word searches. What a terrific resource and a great gift for your followers.

      Thanks for the compliment about me helping others. So sweet.

  3. Linda, your post slipped under my radar. I used to crosswords, but alas no time now. Thanks for sharing Joan’s links. I also have to check out puzzlemaker. Thank you. 🙂

    • Tracy,
      I was happy to share the link to Joan’s crossword puzzles. She offers so much to her readers. Perhaps you could squeeze a crossword puzzle in while you’re waiting for an oil change or at the doctor’s office. Don’t give them up! Consider keeping a book in your car.

      You are also welcome for the link to Puzzlemaker. Thanks for taking time to write at this busy season.

  4. I’m back. Joan, you have created an impressive list of puzzles.
    And Linda, I created a couple of word searches on puzzlemaker. How easy is that? Do you know if the ones I made up can be included in my blog at a future time and/or as handouts that say go with a book written by an author?

  5. Joan,
    Thank you for checking into this for us! You’re tops in so many ways.

  6. Tracy,
    Merry Christmas to you too!

  7. No hurry, Joan and thanks again. 🙂

    • Dear Tracy and Linda,
      Here’s the reply I got from Discovery Education – the makers of Puzzle Maker.

      Dear Joan,
      Unfortunately, the puzzles are only available for classroom or home use. They cannot be used on publicly available websites or blogs.

      Thanks,
      Courtney McGee
      Director, Digital Content | Discovery Education

      Dear Tracy,
      After I get my Elder Care Guide revisions finished, I’ll be glad to create a puzzle for you with my software and send it to you. You can use it online or in a book if we can figure out a great inexpensive cost. Send me an email telling me what you want or send me a copy of the one you wanted to use or a link to it. Then I’ll know if I can do it for you or not.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      • Joan,
        It was great to get the company’s response to your question. How very kind of you to offer to help Tracy with her project idea.

      • Good Morning, Joan and Linda.
        Joan, first let me say HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!
        Second, thank you so much for following through. I appreciate your generous offer to help me out with a crossword puzzle, but at the moment I don’t need one yet, but I will file this away for future reference.
        Thank you again!
        May this birthday be the best ever. And I too celebrate you! 🙂

  8. Joan,
    Thanks for sticking with it to get an answer to Tracy’s questions and for being willing to try again after the holidays if the company doesn’t respond. We appreciate it very much.

  9. […] Linda shared about the Gospel-Based Crossword Puzzles on my website in her Christmas Crossword Puzzle for Crossword Puzzle Day, December 21, 2013: https://lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/2013/12/21/christmas-crossword-puzzle-for-crossword-puzzle-… […]

  10. Tracy,
    I’m so glad you got Joan’s message about the crossword puzzles. How nice to have a favor offered and tucked away for later. So sweet of you to wish Joan a Happy Birthday! It’s delightful to know you!

  11. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • Dear Tracy and Linda,
      You are both very welcome. It was my pleasure to try to find the answer and succeed.

      Just let me know if you decide to do one for a blog, workshop, or book.

      …Joan

Please Leave a Reply

 
