A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Sing Along

Posted by lindamartinandersen on March 21, 2014


“Sing Along…” by Linda Martin Andersen

A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074 “A Writer’s Playground”–A place to find wordplay, writing, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart.

March is Sing With Your Child Month. 

I am very fortunate that my maternal grandfather loved to sing silly songs.  I remember singing along with him.  Sometimes, our family sang songs like “On Top of Old Smokey,” as we traveled on vacation.  What memories do you have of singing along with an adult?  I hope you’ll share comments here.  Even better, go sing with someone.  Have fun!

History of Sing-along Songs:

Sing-along with Mitch Miller.  Check out early TV programs featuring the bouncing ball.  Notice that the singers stood still.  http://www.emmytvlegends.org/interviews/shows/sing-along-with-mitch

Sing-along Collections:

Do you own a sing-along collection?  Here’s a Disney one.  http://www.amazon.com/Sing-Along-Songs-Disneyland-Fun/dp/B0009X75W4

Sing-along Songs I remember well:

Create Your Own Piggyback Songs (changing lyrics)

 Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Please come again soon.  Bring a friend.

Children 13 years old or older may leave a comment–Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act. (COPPA)  See:  http://www.coppa.org/coppa.htm

Copyright © 2014 Linda Martin Andersen

14 Responses to “Sing Along”

  1. Hi Linda, So wonderful to see your post. While traveling, we also sang, “There’s a hole in the bottom of the sea.” I didn’t know there was a video. I’ll check it out. I had forgotten about “Found a Peanut.” Thank you for walking me down memory lane. 🙂

  2. Hi Tracy,
    I’m so glad we learned some of the same songs as youngsters. I didn’t know there was a video for some of these either until I Googled. I am sure there are favorites that slipped my mind. Like you, I enjoyed the memory walk. Thanks for commenting.

  3. joycemoyerhostetter said

    I grew up with a lot of silly songs, including some of these! These songs remind me of my brother.

  4. AH, these tunes bring back memories!! Now I’ll go to bed with them in my head. FUnny how the tunes you remember as a kid are what you sing to your kids, and grandkids, and… it keeps going and going. Guess that’s why these have been around for awhile!

    • Carol,
      I hope you were able to sleep even though tunes were in your head. We do pass on to our kids and grandkids what we love and so the songs stay alive. Your comment that they keep going and going reminded me of the Energizer Bunny. Funny! Thanks for commenting, Carol.

  5. Dear Linda,
    Thanks for such a fun post. I love songs I can singalong with. They are fun, fun, fun. Just like you. You are fun, fun, fun, too.

  6. No kids at home these days Linda, but we have a golden retriever that loves to be sung to!

  7. Tim,
    Now, that’s unconditional love!

Please Leave a Reply

 
