A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

A Dino at A Writer’s Playground

Posted by lindamartinandersen on October 16, 2014


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074“A Writer’s Playground”–A place to find wordplay, writing, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart. 

“A Dino at A Writer’s Playground” by Linda Martin Andersen

Yesterday, I visited Laura Purdie Salas’ blog, one of my new favorite poetry sites.  Laura was sharing about the recent Children’s Book Festival in Sheboygan, Wisconsin, where she presented.

When I saw the photograph she had taken,  I felt like I was looking at a playground equipment catalog, perfect for “A Writer’s Playground.”  I believe every playground would boast ownership of a dinosaur.  Don’t you?  I know I would purchase one except I have a small equipment budget.  Not to be outdone,  I thought I’d reblog the dinosaur photograph Laura posted.  Take a look here:

http://www.laurasalas.com/blog/for-teachers/dino-15wol/

Now imagine the dinosaur in the photograph being stationed at “A Writer’s Playground.”  Instant dino and at no cost to me.  Thanks Laura.

How can I ever repay her?  I’m not sure I can, but maybe you can by viewing her blog.  Enjoy Laura’s poem of 15 words or less.  I know I did. While you’re there, check out her great books.

Another word about Laura’s photo.  It was taken at Bookworm Gardens.  Like the name?  Wouldn’t it make a perfect  garden spot at “A Writer’s Playground?” Maybe I can reblog the Bookworm Gardens another time.   For now, I’ll consider a virtual trip there.  Want to join me?  http://www.bookwormgardens.org/

What are your thoughts?  Where would you like to take a virtual trip?  What equipment would you suggest for “A Writer’s Playground?”

Thanks for visiting.  I hope you’ll leave a comment.  Come again and bring a friend. 

Children 13 years old or older may leave a comment. Read more about the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act. (COPPA) See: http://www.coppa.org/coppa.htm

 

14 Responses to “A Dino at A Writer’s Playground”

  1. Dear Linda,
    I am so excited that your playground now has a Dinosaur in it so that I can play on it, sit on it, and run around it. He’s a friendly dinosaur. Thank you, Linda and Laura for introducing me to him.

    Celebrate you, your blog, and your fun creative mind.

    Love, Joan

    • Joan,
      I’m glad you had such a fun outing at the playground. Our time sitting on the dinosaur with Sarah was like a party. Who knows how many more people might decide to join us there. Better plan to get home late. Did you think to bring snacks?

  2. Thanks for taking me on the garden tour, Linda. I especially liked eating our lunch with Joan on the dinosaur’s back. It was nice of Joan to share.

    • Sarah,
      I’m glad you enjoyed the garden tour. It was delightful to spend time with friends while sitting on a dinosaur. I hope you liked the book as much as I did. That dinosaur knows how to make reading interactive. I’m so glad he’s at the playground! I hope we can get together again soon. Thanks for playing.

  3. Love the dinosaur Linda.

  4. You were right, Linda. that was a cute and imaginative poem. Wow! And in 15 words. What a challenge!

    • Carol,
      I’m glad you enjoyed Laura Purdie Salas’ 15 word poem. Maybe you’d like to take her challenge to try one yourself. Thanks for visiting and commenting at “A Writer’s Playground.” I love having you here.

  5. Thanks for the shoutout, Linda! It IS the perfect dino for a playground:>)

    • Laura,
      My pleasure to give you and your poetry a shoutout. Thanks for dropping in. It’s great to have you at “A Writer’s Playground,” as well as Dino. I want to spotlight your blog posts again sometime soon. You share great ideas with writers of all ages. Best of luck to you and your career! I’m glad I discovered your blog. I want to encourage others to check it out too.

  6. Hi Linda, Thanks for including the link to Laura’s dino. I popped over and viewed the magnificent beast. Her poem was so great too! I think that Dino would be a perfect addition to your wonderful playground. 🙂

    • Thanks Tracy. I am hoping Dino is a rotating exhibit. Maybe I can get “A Writer’s Playground” on the waiting list. I’m glad you enjoyed visiting Laura Purdie Salas’ site. She has great posts. Thanks for all your visits here and for keeping me encouraged. I look forward to each one of your comments.

  7. Kathleen said

    Linda, Thank you for introducing us to the Bookworm Gardens–I love that Hansel and Gretl learning cottage-I bet I could spend hours in there 🙂 That dino is great. My daughter loved anything to do with dinosaurs when she was younger and would have loved that in her playground!

    • Kathleen,
      I’m so glad you leaned of Bookworm Gardens here. I have to give Laura Purdie Salas credit for that. She taught me about it. I’d love to visit there some time. It sounds like we’d both have more fun than some kids.

      I think almost all kids love dinosaurs. One in a child’s playground would be delightful, wouldn’t it? I like that this one is reading. I wonder what books are in its library. That sounds like material for another post.

      Thanks for following my blog and thanks for your friendship! I hope you’re feeling tops!

Please Leave a Reply

 
