A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Sometimes My Revisions Take So Long That if I Were Cinderella…

Posted by lindamartinandersen on February 15, 2015


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074

“Sometimes My Revisions Take So Long That If I Were Cinderella…” by Linda Martin Andersen

Looking for help with revision skills?   Meg Miller can help.

Have you heard of ReviMo?  Every January, Meg Miller organizes a revision challenge for writers.  She follows up with more posts in February.

http://megmillerwrites.blogspot.com/p/revimo-2015.html

For more revision help, check out Jennifer Swanson’s Petite ReviMo February post below.   Want to be entered in a drawing for a free picture book critique? 

http://megmillerwrites.blogspot.com/2015/02/petite-revimo-february-with-jen-swanson.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+blogspot%2FuUaxQ+%28Meg+Miller+Children%27s+Book+Writer%29

Here’s the comment I left at this blog about my revision skills: 

“Sometimes my revisions take so long, that if I were Cinderella, my gown would be too small to wear to the ball.”

How about you? 

What book character can you use in an analogy to describe your revision process?

What is an analogy? http://examples.yourdictionary.com/analogy-examples-for-kids.html

http://examples.yourdictionary.com/analogy-examples-in-literature.html

What is your favorite part of revision?

Please leave a comment.  Come again soon and bring a friend.

Children 13 years old or older may leave a comment. Read more about the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act. (COPPA) See: http://www.coppa.org/coppa.htm

10 Responses to “Sometimes My Revisions Take So Long That if I Were Cinderella…”

  1. Thank you for this post. I need all the help I can get with revisions! I will dive in!

    Stay warm and safe this week with the snow/sleet/ice/cold.

    Love,
    Janis

    • Janis,
      Dive on in! I hope you find these sites helpful. If you comment on the post by Jennifer Swanson, you may win a picture book critique. That’s a sweet deal. Good luck with your revisions. I’ll do my best to stay warm. You too.

  2. Dear Linda, thank you for writing this post. You must have worked really hard to be Cinderella. Sometimes, I feel I am a bear in hibernation,only it is revision instead of hibernation.

    Have fun.

  3. I don’t think I can do better than “The little engine that could.” I feel that way many days!!

  4. Oh Linda, I burst out laughing … “Sometimes my revisions take so long, that if I were Cinderella, my gown would be too small to wear to the ball.” I just love this line. Glad your revising. But what, I wonder? I hear it was President’ Day in the States today. Hope you had a super day. 🙂

    • Tracy,
      I’m glad to hear my Cinderella line brought a big laugh. I hoped it would be funny to readers. I’m just not quite sure where it came from. Probably a psychiatrist could tell me. 😉

      Dear friend, I’m revising a picture book. One I’ve erased and edited more than one pencil could withstand. Thank goodness for computer keyboards and word documents.

      I did enjoy Presidents Day. It was a good Monday. I hope it was a good day in Canada too!

  5. Kathleen said

    Thank you Linda for introducing me to Meg Millers’ blog. Some time my revisions are so long that if I was Dorothy in “The Wizard of Oz”, I would still be sleeping in the poppy field 🙂

Please Leave a Reply

 
