A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

100 Reasons to Be Thankful–reblogged

Posted by lindamartinandersen on February 23, 2015


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074 “100 Reasons to Be Thankful”–reblogged from Amy Ludwig VanDerwater’s post.  Thanks Amy!

Have you ever seen a display made by kindergarten students, with a little help from parents, to celebrate their 100th Day of School?  If not, you are missing a treat.  Amy Ludwig VanDerwater’s post centers on that topic.  Enjoy!

http://www.poemfarm.amylv.com/2015/02/100-reasons-to-be-thankful.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+amylv%2FGmZc+%28The+Poem+Farm%29

Amy also shared an npr interview with Tarak McLain, a kindergarten student in 2009.   I can only say, “Out of the mouths of babes.”  This I Believe

What would be one of your top ten beliefs?  Please leave a comment.  Come again soon and bring a friend.

Children 13 years old or older may leave a comment. Read more about the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act. (COPPA) See: http://www.coppa.org/coppa.htm

 

13 Responses to “100 Reasons to Be Thankful–reblogged”

  1. Dear Linda,,
    Thanks for sharing Amy Ludwig VanDerwater’s blog post. I loved the beliefs of the kindergartener, Tarak McClain. Amazing. It’s spurred me to actually write my 100 beliefs. It would be an eye opener, I’m sure.

    I believe in you and your blog.

    Celebrate you
    Never Give Up
    Joan,

    • Joan,
      What a swell thing to say…you believe in me and in my blog. Thank you. I appreciate that a whole lot. I’m glad you enjoyed Amy’s post. I especially enjoyed listening to Tarak McClain state his beliefs. Amazing. After hearing his recording, you listed your beliefs. What a powerful result this had on you. I’m honored to have been a small part of that. I bet you learned awesome things about yourself.

  2. My “operating system”is that life is good. Despite rough times, pain, disappointment, I know that life is beautiful. Every day brings hope and joy.I always find a connection to nature, appreciate the sunshine,a blue sky, plants and wildlife,etc.This gives me a joie de vivre.

    • Janis,
      You have a winning attitude. I believe life is good too! I’m glad I get to enjoy it every day. I love that you find connections with nature in each day. Beautiful approach! Thanks for sharing. I always gain from reading your comments.

  3. The sun has been shining every day despite the freezing cold weather. Way better than dreary, cloudy days. Better to look at life with the glass half full than half empty.

  4. Kathleen said

    Linda, what a great way to make us think! It reminded me when my daughter was young and had to make her 100 day poster 🙂 I believe that the love someone had for you in their lifetime, continues to shine on you even after that person is gone. On a less serious note-I also believe chocolate always helps what ails ya(unless you’re allergic to it) 🙂

  5. mary hagan said

    My granddaughter has a Poetry folder in her kindergarten. she had a poem for 100 days: 100 days! 100 days! 100 days of school! We’ve been here 100 days. We think that’s pretty cool. She has some that can be set to music–wash your hands to Row, Row, Row you Boat: Wash, wash, wash your hands Morning, noon, and night. Rub and scrub, rub and scrub Germs go out of sight. We still have ice and snow. All of their activities have been cancelled Fri afternoon until Monday. Even Sunday School is cancelled tomorrow, so they have had to stay with me the entire time!! Tho we did get outside briefly to build a snowman–too cold and too wet–their gloves were soaked! Could have used some of your activities, tho we have survived so far. M

    • Mary,
      100 poems! What a great way to celebrate 100 days! Just so you know, your nurse hat is showing! You obviously appreciate any way to encourage good hand washing practices. Kids remember songs that make things fun. I’m so glad you got to share these experiences with your grandchildren.

      Sorry to hear that all activities were cancelled from Friday afternoon until Monday due to ice and snow there. Lucky us, we’re getting rain instead. I hope you took pictures of the snowman that you and the grandkids made. Nice of you to say you could have used some of the blog activities during this cold snap. I’m sure you filled each moment with quality time and love. Maybe some snacks too. 😉

      Thanks for sharing what you’ve been up to! Encourage your granddaughter to keep her poetry collection forever and always!

Please Leave a Reply

 
