A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Read Aloud Memories

Posted by lindamartinandersen on March 4, 2015


 

A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074 “Read Aloud Memories” by Linda Martin Andersen

Happy World Read Aloud Day!–March 4, 2015.  To learn more about this day, check here:  

http://www.litworld.org/wrad/

The theme:  Read Aloud.  Change the World.

Copyright 2015 LitWorld.org

Copyright 2015 LitWorld.org

Some of my favorite read aloud memories include:

  • a teacher who read aloud daily sharing an event that happened that day in history.  As the school year progressed, the teacher permitted students to read from her book.  If you enjoy reading about historical events, consider this website:  http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history.  A shout out for Joyce Moyer Hostetter who introduced me to this site.  She writes historical fiction for children.  See here:  http://joycemoyerhostetter.info/
  • my mother reading Heidi and other books to us.
  • poetry readings sponsored by our local public library.  Today’s library offers storytelling programs as a regular part of programming for children.
  • another teacher led my class in choral reading of displayed poems on chart paper.  I can still hear “There was a little turtle.  He lived in a box….” by  Vachel Lindsay 1879–1931.  I wonder if the author or my teacher would ever have dreamed that people would still be reciting this poem in 2015?  “The Little Turtle” is available in song and finger plays too.                  http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/173885
  • Sunday School teachers and Vacation Bible School teachers read Bible stories and discussed them.

A BIG thank you to all those who shared read aloud moments with me!  I created a poster in your honor.

Read-Aloud-and-Create[1]

Poster created at Quozio.com

What about you?  What favorite read aloud memories do you have? 

Do you read aloud to others?  Perhaps you could volunteer to read aloud to children.

Please leave a comment.  Thanks for visiting.  Come again soon and bring a friend.

Children 13 years old or older may leave a comment. Read more about the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act. (COPPA) See: http://www.coppa.org/coppa.htm

16 Responses to “Read Aloud Memories”

  1. Reading to my kids when they were young will always be a precious memory to me and to them Linda. And because of the early intervention, they were reading to me at a very early age. I think all kids love to be read to. I like audio books my self. Something nice about listening and imagining without the tired eyes.

    • Susan,
      I like audiobooks too. I haven’t listened to one in a long time. Thanks for planting that idea.

      I’m so glad this post brought back precious memories to you. You are right, reading to young children does give them a head start on pre-reading skills.

  2. Dear Linda,
    It was so much fun when you called me and read a picture book out loud to me about Humpty Dumpty Climbs Again by Dave Horowitz….Here’s a link to a librarian reading it for your readers. Thanks for being my friend.

    Sincerely,
    Joan

    • Joan,
      How sweet of you to mention the picture book read aloud I did with you. Since I read to you over the phone, you didn’t have the advantage of pictures like these viewers. You’re a bright listener. You got the humor without pictures. I love that you attached the YouTube video for others to view and listen to. Thank you so much! I appreciate your participation!

  3. I’m convinced that my love of stories is from listening to my father read aloud “Wiinnie the Pooh” when I was younger. One of my first published articles was a tribute to that memory.

    • Carol, sweet memories led to sweet publication stories all because of a parent who read aloud. Thanks for wise parents who give us what we need and instill the love of reading. I appreciate your comments. You honor your father with your writing!

  4. June said

    Dear Linda,
    I wasn’t aware of read aloud day! I’m glad there is such a day. As writers we know how reading aloud can improve our writing.

    • June,
      I’m glad you told me that you had not heard of this special day! Now you know.

      Yes, reading our writing aloud does lead to better stories. Thanks for reminding fellow writers of that. I appreciate your comments. Please come again soon.

  5. Thanks for sharing your read-a-loud moments, Linda. When I see my grandkids, I love to read-a-loud to them, and they enjoy it too. 🙂 Your poster is very professionally done!

    • Tracy,
      Read aloud moments are special. I’m glad you share these with your grandkids. You are creating lifelong memories.

      I appreciate the compliment on my poster. I’m having fun making a few of them. Congratulations on your new upcoming line of stamps for notecards etc. So proud of you and your art.

  6. Becky Shillington said

    I still read aloud to my boys (12-year-old twins) almost every night. It something I started when they were infants, and they still enjoy it! I love that there is a “World Read Aloud Day,” and your poster is beautiful!

    • Becky,
      It’s great to hear that your twelve-year-olds want to be read to. Yay! I hope that continues for at least a few more years.

      Thanks for the compliment on my poster. I enjoyed making it.

  7. gwen07 said

    Hope this is not too late — my earliest “read-a-loud” memory is of Mrs. Gordon – my 4th grade teacher (’60) at Gardena Elementary School (Calif.) Everyday for 30 minutes she would read to us — Henry Huggins, et al and other popular series of the time but what I remember most is the story of “Nancy & Plum” — two sisters in an orphanage. I’ve tried to get a copy of this book but out of print and out of price-range for me. I remember a teacher/school administrator(?) coming to the classroom door and being astonished to see Mrs. Gordon reading to us —- we students never saw a problem nor did we think we were too old to be read to. After this, I joined the book club (Scholastic(?) and would save my lunch money to buy those little paperback books. Mrs. Gordon and teachers like her should be honored — every day! BTW – I remember Mrs. Gordon telling me one day she thought my mother was beautiful – she was – but for the only African-American kid in this all white classroom to be told this…. I could not have been more pleased nor felt more special. I loved Mrs. Gordon.

    • Gwen,
      Read aloud memories can be enjoyed any day of the year! Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful 4th grade memories with Mrs. Gordon, an A+ teacher. I’m so glad you had this outstanding experience which helped mold you into a writer. Yay! I’m so glad you took the time to write about this! Thank you again!

  8. As a mom and grandma, I love (d) reading aloud to my family. From Dr. Seuss to Mark Twain and more.
    As a teacher I read aloud and had others i my classes do the same to dramatize and bring so many stories to life. This helps children and all readers visualize and “hear” the characters and better imagine. Reading aloud let’s us walk into the stories.

    • Janis,
      Thanks so much for sharing your experiences with read aloud time. I love the image of walking into stories. You definitely love reading. It shows all over. It’s my pleasure to have you visiting and commenting here. Thanks again.

Please Leave a Reply

 
