A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Forests Call to Me

Posted by lindamartinandersen on March 26, 2015


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074 “Forests Call to Me” by Linda Martin Andersen

Last night,  some family members gathered for dinner at my sister’s new house.  My fifteen-year-old niece decorated her bedroom with a forest theme–her idea.  I’ve enjoyed watching her room transform.   She selected her own bedspread, which is printed in an artistic tree pattern.  She also chose the room’s accessories.  My favorite is a lit bare-branched tree, several feet tall, with an owl (stuffed animal) perched on a limb.  Obviously, the forests call to my niece.

Earlier this month, Tim Livingston shared a guest post on March 21 for International Day of Forests.  Tim is a forester artist.  He manages forests and photographs, sketches, and paints its beauty.  Forests and art are two of his passions.  See here:

https://lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/2015/03/21/march-21-international-day-of-forests/

 

In 2013, Clarion Books published a poetry book called, Forest Has a Song, by Amy Ludwig VanDerwater, one of my favorite poets.  It is also obvious that Amy hears the forests’ song.  See here:  http://www.amyludwigvanderwater.com/BOOKS.html

 

Forest has a song

Like my niece, Tim Livingston, and Amy Ludwig VanDerwater,  forests call to  me.  How do I know?  One way–the house where my husband and I live is off the highway, down a private dirt driveway, and  surrounded by trees.  We love seeing deer, foxes, hawks, and other wildlife in our yard.

Forests call to me.  Do they call to you?  In what way?  Please share your thoughts here.

Thanks for visiting.  Come again soon and bring a friend.  Children 13 years old or older may leave a comment. Read more about the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act. (COPPA) See: http://www.coppa.org/coppa.htm

 

22 Responses to “Forests Call to Me”

  1. Dear Linda, How cool that your niece decorated her room in a forest theme. Forests keep us alive.
    Thank you for sharing about forests and Tim Livingston’s blog about it, too.

    Celebrate you
    Never Give Up
    Joan

    • Joan,
      I’m glad you enjoyed hearing about my niece’s room with the forest theme and Tim Livingston’s blog about forests. Yes, forests provide us what we need and what we long for too. Thanks for being a faithful follower and for your comments!

  2. I love this! I too have a love affair with forests and the country. I get a thrill when I hear the red-tailed hawks calling in the morning, the frogs croaking at night, and the first sliver of the new moon soaring over our heads. Right now our South Carolina State Flower, the Yellow Jessamine, has begun to bloom, and at times I can catch the scent of the flowers on the wind. I love living in the country with all the wild animals- so much life!

  3. I love forests too!! Peaceful. Quiet. Breathable!!! It’s in my blood.

  4. I, too, have woods surrounding my house. Sometimes I feel like Marlin Perkins in “Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom.” (Ooooh! I’m really dating myself here!)

    • So sorry to learn that this great comment has been held in pending comments since March. I do appreciate your contribution and wanted you to know. Your mention of Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom did my heart good.

  5. Oh, what a cool niece! It seems she and you are kindred spirits, hearing nature’s whispers. Thank you for sharing my book with your beautiful tribute to these beautiful spaces. 🙂 a.

    • Amy,
      It was my pleasure to share your book on this post. I love my personal copy of Forest Has a Song. Your poems are delightful.

      I love the thought of my niece and me being kindred spirits and hearing nature’s whispers. Lovely. Thank you! I appreciate your stopping by and leaving a comment.

  6. Wonderful forest themes. Linda, it’s wonderful your niece was able to decorate her bedroom trees as the theme. 🙂

    • Tracy,
      I’m glad you enjoyed the forest themes on this blog. I do like my niece’s forest theme. I’d love to see a bedroom you designed and decorated using a theme! I know it would be special!

  7. Perhaps one day I’ll share a bedroom. 🙂

  8. No pressure right? LOL Thank you for always encouraging me, Linda. 🙂

  9. Becky Shillington said

    Hi Linda,
    I love spending time in forests. I think that is one of the main reasons I am more a “mountain person” than a “beach person,” although I have visited some pretty cool forests near the beach, too. How wonderful that your niece came up with such a unique design for a room!

    • Hi Becky,

      Welcome. Always a pleasure to have you visit.

      When I was a child, I visited the beach more than the mountains. Closer to us too. Now, my husband and I head to the hills. We love the quiet we experience nestled way back off the highway in a wooded area.

      I bet your kids could design a cool room too. Maybe they already have.

      Thanks for commenting and for complimenting my niece’s decorating theme idea. She’s a keeper. 😉

  10. Kathleen said

    Linda, your post brings back happy memories. When we lived in RI we had 2 acres of mostly woods. My daughter and I had seen a turkey, fox, and a rabid raccoon run through our yard. We so badly wanted to see a deer. We spotted many on our country road, though 🙂

    • Kathy,
      I’m so glad this post brought back happy memories for you. Seeing animals in their natural habitat is quite a blessing. I hope these memories always bring comfort you when you need time away and can’t get it right then.

      Thanks so much for commenting and for being a faithful follower.

  11. They call me every day! In fact what’s that I hear….. Gotta go! 😉

Please Leave a Reply

 
