A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

An Interview With Laura Purdie Salas–Short and Sweet. Giveaway too.

Posted by lindamartinandersen on May 2, 2015


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074 “An Interview With Laura Purdie Salas–Short and Sweet.  Giveaway too.” by Linda Martin Andersen

Every day in April, Laura Purdie Salas offered a tip for sharing poetry.  If you missed this collection, April posts are still available here:  http://www.laurasalas.com/blog/

Laura is a poet with over 100 published books.  I am excited that she agreed to an interview.  To see a sampling of Laura’s books, check here:

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=Laura+Purdie+Salas

Short and Sweet Interview with…

Laura Purdie Salas, poet and author 

I asked Laura questions based on the book titles below.  Her responses appear in green. 

Welcome, Laura! I know you’re a poet and author.  I’d write an introduction in rhyme, if it were my strength.  Perhaps, I should at least open with some rhymes:  here, cheer, dear, fear, near…enough of that.  Take it away, Laura Purdie Salas!  We’re so happy to have you here.

Title #1:  Colors of Weather (Colors All Around)

Name an example of a color of weather.

Green sky when storms are brewing

Title #2:  A Leaf Can Be . . . 

a love note from a tree.

Title #3:  Water Can Be . . .

a shape-shifting wave.

Title #4:  A Rock Can Be…

a story-teller.

Title #5:  BookSpeak!: Poems About Books

Name an example of how a book speaks.

Mine say, “Forget the dishwasher…come finish me!”

Title #6:  Stampede!: Poems to Celebrate the Wild Side of School

Name one example of a “wild side of school.”

As a former 8th-grade teacher, I have too many examples swimming around my head!

Title #7:  A Fuzzy-Fast Blur: Poems about Pets (Poetry)  

What is an example of a “fuzzy-fast blur?”

A hamster on the loose!

Title #8:  Whose Coat Is This?: A Look at How Workers Cover Up – Jackets, Smocks, and Robes (Whose Is It?: Community Workers)  

Name a community worker and his cover up.

Firefighter’s turnout gear

Title #9:  Whose Shoes Are These?: A Look at Workers’ Footwear – Slippers, Sneakers, and Boots (Whose Is It?: Community Workers)

Name a community worker and his footwear.

Librarian’s comfy shoes!

Title #10:  Whose Gloves Are These?: A Look at Gloves Workers Wear – Leather, Cloth, and Rubber (Whose Is It?: Community Workers)    

Name a community worker and the type gloves he wears.

Raptor rescuer’s leather gauntlets

Title #11:  Fairy Tale Garage Sale: Poems of After Ever After (30 Painless Classroom Poems) (Volume 3)  

Name a fairy tale character and something she might sell at a garage sale.   

Rapunzel’s conditioner—after she cuts her hair short!

Title #12:  C Is for Cake!: A Birthday Alphabet (Alphabet Fun) (A+ Books: Alphabet Fun)  

Choose an alphabet letter and its birthday match.

B is for Blushing—when everyone is singing to me

Title #13:  Always Got My Feet: Poems about Transportation (Poetry) 

Name a way to use feet for transportation.

Walk along Lake Superior to transport my mind to a wilder place

Title #14:  Seed Sower, Hat Thrower: Poems about Weather (Poetry)

What weather matches “seed sower, hat thrower?”

March wind!

Title #15:  Tiny Dreams, Sprouting Tall: Poems about the United States (Poetry)

What matches “tiny dreams, sprouting tall?”

A poem

Title #16:  Why-Ku:  Poems of Wonder About the World (30 painless Classroom Poems)

Name a “wonder about the world.”

(Inspired by a listener at a recent reading of A ROCK CAN BE…) I wonder if grouse and chickens ever eat too MANY pebbles, or if instinct tells them when to quit.

To celebrate “A Writer’s Playground’s” 3rd birthday, I’m giving away one of Laura Purdie Salas’ books to the first person who correctly guesses the title.   See the list above.   To personalize your gift, Laura Purdie Salas will provide a signed bookplate for the winner. Entry is due by May 31, 2015 at 7:00 p.m. (EST)  Please, only one entry per household.

Which book do you think I purchased to give away?   Please record your answer in the comment box below.  Include your email address also, if I do not have it.  It will be used for contest contact purposes.   Good luck!

Be on the lookout for a birthday celebration invitation coming soon!

Thanks for visiting.  Come again soon and bring a friend.  Children 13 years old or older are invited to  comment.  See: http://www.coppa.org/coppa.htm

27 Responses to “An Interview With Laura Purdie Salas–Short and Sweet. Giveaway too.”

  1. Dear Linda,
    Goodness! What fun books you chose for Laura Purdie Salas to write a line about. Just think, she’s got a hundred books published. You’re amazing, Laura.
    Linda, it was fun hearing your questions and her responses. Congratulations on your three years of wonderful, fun blogs. I want another reader to win the prize. So I won’t enter the contest. Good luck to all entries.

    • Joan,
      Isn’t it amazing how many books Laura Purdie Salas has published? She’s such a wonderful person too. I’m glad you enjoyed the questions and responses from Laura’s interview. I liked reading about her many books. Thanks for congratulating me on three years of blogging. I’m glad you find my posts to be fun. I certainly enjoy having you visit and comment. Very sweet of you to pass on the chance to win a book giveaway. Someone else will be very happy!

    • Thanks, Joan! I’ve been writing for kids for 20 years, and have been being published for 15, so the numbers add up:>) Thanks for stopping by.

  2. joyacey said

    My guess is BOOKSPEAK. Fun interview. Laura is a real treasure to children’s poetry. I love her poetry challenges. Thank you for this post.

    • Joy,
      Your guess is a great one, but unfortunately not the one I purchased. No winner yet! I’m glad you liked the interview. I had fun doing it. Laura Purdie Salas is a real treasure and you are a real JOY! You say that Laura is good at presenting poetry challenges. I know for a fact that you are good at accepting challenges of all kinds. I love that about you. Thanks for the compliments about this post and about Laura’s writing. I’m fortunate to know both of you. Thanks for commenting!

    • Thanks, Joy–I so appreciated your kind words. You are indeed the same as your name. I always love your enthusiasm:>)

  3. I guess #5-Bookspeak. If I win, it goes to one of the grandkids!

  4. Thanks, Linda, for having me here and for this fun little challenge. It was fun to respond to your questions with something off the top of my head. Especially since I was on a big road trip and feeling somewhat disoriented! I love your celebrations of writing and reading and creativity!

    • Laura,
      My blog followers and I are the lucky ones to have you here. Thank you. I loved your clever responses. I think readers enjoyed the short and sweet of it too. Thanks for the big compliment about my blog’s content. That means a lot to me!

  5. NIce interview, Linda. I’m impressed with Laura’s quick wit. Also, I happened to review “Ä Rock is a Lively Thing” for the “Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database.”

    • Sarah,
      You do such nice book reviews. The title you mentioned isn’t Laura’s, but I bet she’d like it. I like Sarah’s quick wit too. It made for a fun interview. Thanks for playing. I hope you’ll guess a title from his blog post for a chance to win the giveaway.

  6. Oops, didn’t realize there were other titles starting with Ä Rock Is..” I’m guessing you chose “Rhyming Picture Books: The Write Way (A Children’s Writer Insider Guide from Mentors for Rent(TM)) (Volume 2.)”

  7. Kathleen said

    Linda, what a fun post! I will guess Why-ku. I look forward to hear more of your 3rd blig birthday 🙂

  8. Now I’m late to wish you a Happy third blogoversary. LOL Super interview, Linda, and Laura. 🙂

  9. Becky Shillington said

    Great interview, Linda and Laura! My guess is title #6: Stampede!: Poems to Celebrate the Wild Side of School.

    • Becky,
      I’m so glad you enjoyed the short and sweet interview. Laura is an amazing poet/author. It was great to have her here.

      Unfortunately, Title #6 isn’t the book I purchased. If the correct book title isn’t identified by the end of the month, your name will be entered in a random drawing. Thanks for participating! Always a pleasure to have you here.

Please Leave a Reply

 
