A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

High School and Prom Dates…That Special Someone

Posted by lindamartinandersen on May 19, 2015


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074 “High School and Prom Dates…That Special Someone” by Linda Martin Andersen

High school and prom dates…that special someone. 

These two recent newspaper articles reflect that some dates are about far more than beauty.  They’re about special friendships and caring.

https://www.yahoo.com/parenting/high-school-quarterback-keeps-promise-to-friend-118955651387.html

Local story from my area:

http://www.fayobserver.com/news/local/kim-hasty-special-prom-posal-touches-hearts/article_b6de5e8c-9aa6-56a6-87cc-ed9324f08514.html

I hope you’ll share stories about special friendships.  I love to hear people sing the praises of today’s youth.  Don’t you?

Thanks for visiting.  Come again soon and bring a friend.  Comments are appreciated.  If you’re under 13 years old, please ask a trusted adult to post for you.

 

10 Responses to “High School and Prom Dates…That Special Someone”

  1. Lovely to read both of these, Linda! Thanks for making me smile.

  2. Dear Linda,
    The two stories you shared from the newspaper and prom-posals are very powerful and loving stories. Thank you for sharing them.

    Celebrate you
    Never Give Up
    Joan

  3. No particular prom dates to share, but I am still liking your comment on my blog about audience is whoever shows up. Loved that!!

    • Carol,

      Thanks for commenting!

      By the time your grandkids are grown, you will have a whole journal full of examples. Kids do amazing things for each other out of friendship.

      I’m so happy that you liked my definition of audience. I’m sure I’ve heard it somewhere.

  4. The newspaper article about Rachel and her prom date was so touching. So good to know there are young people who have heart and show love for others, Linda. I went to a prom with a boy who needed a date when I was back in high school. Made me feel great to help out a friend. 🙂

    • Tracy,
      You haven’t changed a bit. You were a sweetheart then and are still one today. Not one bit surprised to hear of your “big heart.” Thanks for sharing your personal story. I think topics like this would make for good MG and YA content.

  5. Kathleen said

    Linda, that story from your local paper just tugs at my heart. I don’t think I could add anything to that. I love seeing friendship and compassion at work 🙂

    • Kathy,
      I appreciate you taking time to comment. It’s always good to have you here. It’s hard to add to stories like these, isn’t it? I am imagining compassion and friendship are paired in your upcoming novel. Am I right?

      I loved the hometown story too. I am following Victor’s story on FB. I used to work with his adoptive mom. Wonderful family! His prom date was a former student too. It did my heart good to see them paired for the prom.

Please Leave a Reply

 
