A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Dog Days of Summer Have Ended or So They Say

Posted by lindamartinandersen on August 12, 2015


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074  “Dog Days of Summer Have Ended or So They Say” by Linda Martin Andersen

The Dog Days of summer have ended.  My thoughts on Dog Days: 

They are great days for reading about dogs and staying cool.  I did some of that.  Even though Dog Days have passed, plenty of summer reading time remains.  So why not read about dogs now?

Recently, I found great blog posts about dogs.  You might enjoy them too.  To celebrate  the debut of Maria Gianferrari’s book series, Penny &  Jelly–The School Show,

EMU members told of their favorite literary dog character here:

https://emusdebuts.wordpress.com/2015/07/08/emus-love-dogs-especially-literary-ones/

Looking for a writing prompt?

Write about an experience with a dog or other pet.  For ideas, check the ones shared by EMUs celebrating the debut of  My Dog is the Best by Laurie Thompson.  EMUs shared “what they think is the best in their lives.”

https://emusdebuts.wordpress.com/2015/06/08/lauries-book-is-the-best/

Looking for book signing tips?

EMU blogger,  Maria Gianferrari, passed along book signing tips for Penny & Jelly–The School Show.  If you’re a writer or illustrator, I recommend reading this post:

https://emusdebuts.wordpress.com/2015/07/20/top-10-book-launch-dos-a-few-donts-the-power-of-roberta/

Looking for a fun picture book about a dog? Check out this one:

I’m My Own Dog by David Ezra Stein.  A picture book told from a dog’s point of view.  Fun!

What dog books would you recommend?

Share your thoughts here.  Thanks for visiting.  Come again soon and bring a friend.  Please remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them. Thank you! 

 

 

10 Responses to “Dog Days of Summer Have Ended or So They Say”

  1. not a dog person myself, but they’re rampant here in The Villages. The funniest is seeing big ones ride with their owners in golf carts. The strangest is seeing people push their little dogs in ‘strollers.” There should be a book about that!

    • Carol,
      I understand. It’s okay not to be a dog person.

      I think the EMU posts do an outstanding job showing ways blog group members support each other. One way they do this is by finding a common interest such as a funny experience mentioned in a debut book and have each member share about a similar experience. I see this as a smart marketing idea.

      Keep choosing favorite titles from the reading shelf and sharing about books that speak to you.

      Thanks for commenting. Always great to have you here.

  2. Dear Linda,
    My adventures with dogs have all been tragedies! So I spend my devotion and attention to people! I do love Kristina Stanley’s blog posts about her dog, Farley and I love Snoopy! Thanks for sharing such neat posts!

  3. I like P.D. Eastman’s Go Dog Go for young children and early readers.

    • Janis,
      I’ll have to read that one. I haven’t, I’m sorry to say. I am happy that you stopped by to share this title. Others may look for it too. It’s always a pleasure to hear from you. Thanks for commenting.

  4. Hi Linda, This posts hits close to home. For the writing prompt idea, I wrote a blog post about how God performed a miracle for my dearly departed companion. Hope it was okay to include the link. http://tracycampbell.net/blog/miracles/. Enjoy the rest of your summer. 🙂

    • Tracy,
      I’m thrilled that you put up a link to a dog story dear to your heart. Thank you. I’m also so sorry to hear that Patches is no longer with you, except in your fondest memories. What a beautiful dog! Thanks again for sharing!

  5. One of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read is The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wrobelewski. Just the most beautiful language ever. Makes you want to savor paragraphs. It’s about a boy and his dog. I also was blown away by The Knife of Never Letting Go, which isn’t technically about a dog, but a dog is a main character in it. Awesome book. I’m a huge dog lover, so your blog post is fabulous!

    • Kara,
      Thank you for these terrific recommendations. Any book with a dog character is a dog book to me. Thanks for saying this post is fabulous. I was glad I could center it around dogs since hot summer dogs are considered “dog days.” I enjoy passing along content I like and that I hope others will enjoy too. You’re doing the same by listing titles here! Thank you again. I appreciate your visit and comments. I hope to meet you in person one day–maybe at the SCBWI-C Fall Conference.

Please Leave a Reply

 
