A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

How is Story Revision Like Fall Leaves and Women’s Hair Color?

Posted by lindamartinandersen on September 16, 2015


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074  “How is Story Revision Like Fall Leaves and Women’s Hair Color?” by Linda Martin Andersen

Question:  How is story revision like fall leaves and women’s hair color?”

Answer:  They change.

That’s my riddle for today.  Here’s what inspired it:

I love to write for children.  I’m currently working on a picture book manuscript.  Fellow writers critiqued my story and I revised and sent it back for another round of critiques.  I recently told a friend, “I’m already thinking on my next changes.  I added that my stories change as often as some women’s hair color.”  I hope that brought a smile to her and to you too.

I used to work with a lady who dyed her hair frequently.  If I had been asked to describe her, I’m not sure I would have known what color hair to name.  Today, people may choose to color their hair blue or bright red.  Why?  For FUN!

Why do tourist go to see the leaves change colors?  They’re beautiful.  And it’s FUN!

Let’s make story revision FUN too!

I look forward to your comments.  Riddles are welcome too.  Thanks for stopping in.  Come again soon and bring a friend.  Please remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them. Thank you! 

For more calendar fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thanks so much.

 

14 Responses to “How is Story Revision Like Fall Leaves and Women’s Hair Color?”

  1. hmmm… pretty good comparison if you ask me–as one who dyes her hair and revises A LOT!

  2. I like these analogies for revision. It’s like dust. It has to be done again and again, but the end product looks good. Because I have vision deficits, I listen to what I have written. It has to sound fluent, descriptive and interesting. Listening can be helpful to others, too.
    Also, I take a vacation now and then from a manuscript. When I come back to it, I listen and pick up things that need reision. Fresh eyes; fresh ears.A “vacation” might be a few days or longer.

    • Oh Janis, let’s don’t talk about dust. No fun! Although, I agree the end product does look good.

      A vacation from a manuscript is helpful, as is listening to it being read. Great tips. Thanks for passing them along! I appreciate hearing from you. Thank you for your loyalty! Keep up the great writing!

  3. Dear Linda,
    I used to dye my hair every 3 months. Now I leave it au-natural. However, I for one would like to put blue chalk in my hair. Maybe for the SCBWI-Carolinas Conference. Why not? It’ll wash out.

    Have a fun day being your sweet self!
    Joan

  4. Yep, every month it’s time to change the hair colour. Gotta keep things interesting.

  5. Linda, what a fun post. Loved the riddle. And so glad you’re revising, revising, revising. I do the same things maybe a little to much. I can’t wait until your PB is published. I love watching the leaves change color. 🙂

    • Tracy,
      Thanks for letting me know that you enjoyed my post. And yes, I do revise a lot. So much so, my fingers should be pumping iron. Corny yes, but couldn’t resist! I love your positive thinking–a published PB. I can’t wait either. Now to get one ready to send. 😉

      I love Fall too!

  6. Kathleen said

    Love your riddle! What a great way to look at the revision process 🙂

  7. Becky Shillington said

    I’m one of those people who thinks revision is FUN too, Linda! Happy revising!!

Please Leave a Reply

 
