A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Celebrate Every Day

Posted by lindamartinandersen on January 8, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074  “Celebrate Every Day” by Linda Martin Andersen

Each month at “A Writer’s Playground,” I post information about monthly calendar days to observe.

This post is a reminder to celebrate every day of the month!  Not with a party and cake, but by living life to the fullest!

Yesterday, I read an article in “The Fayetteville Observer” by Alicia Rancilio of the Associated Press about customizing your own decorative planning tools.  This reminded me of scrapbooking days.

Just like coloring books are now something for all ages, so are decorative planning creations.  One 14-year-old interviewed in the article, creates a planner page to help her “conquer the week.”  That sounds more than decorative.  That sounds empowering.

Erin Condren, a customized planner business owner, suggests combining  planning with “truly celebrating every day.” http://www.erincondren.com/ 

And for those who say they don’t have a creative bone in their bodies… the best line of the article:  “The great thing is, there are no rules.”

Read Alicia Rancilio’s article below:

http://www.fayobserver.com/living/to-do-lists-turn-creative-with-stickers-tape-and-colors/article_a996f8e5-496f-5bf8-a291-c09f55196f8e.html

Look for other lovely tools that encourage creativity.  At our local farmer’s market, I purchased a hand-made sketch book for my niece that was covered  in a fabric that looked like batik.   What is batik?  Learn more here:   http://www.batikguild.org.uk/whatisbatik.asp 

Suggested Writing Prompts: 

  1. What is a red letter day?  When did you have one?  Describe it.
  2. Have you had a sick day lately?  What did friends and family do to cheer you up and help you to feel better?
  3. List the steps for creating a decorated planner page others can try.

 

 

17 Responses to “Celebrate Every Day”

  1. Dear Linda,
    The way that 14-year-old in the Fayetteville paper, creating a planner page to help her “conquer the week” does sound empowering.

    Thank you for your calls and email during the last week when I have been under the weather.

    Love, Joan

  2. “This is the day that the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it!” Psalm 118:24

  3. I enjoyed visiting the links you provided, Linda. Celebrating is also another way to say we’re thankful. I am so thankful and celebrating that I know you and that you provide so much encouragement and fun your writer’s playground. Have a fabulous weekend. 🙂

    • Yes, I agree. We do celebrate what we’re thankful for. I thank you kindly for your sweet comments. Keep feeling encouraged. You have awesome gifts and use them well. Thanks for being a faithful follower here!

  4. What an amazing thing do, Linda. I have enough trouble just remembering to jot down my appointments without adding arts and crafts to it. I’m impressed by people who lead such joyfully organized lives. God bless them all and the rest of us who haven’t the mental stamina to do such a thing.

    • Sarah, I’m glad you enjoyed the newspaper article. Creativity comes in many different forms. As for you, you just published a book. Don’t go making slight of your gifts! By the way, I’m taking three workshops on self-publishing offered by the public library for free! Maybe I’ll know how to speak your language a little better soon! 😉 Thanks for commenting!

  5. eightpawswriting said

    You are an inspiration for me to try and stay organized. I do get frustrated that there aren’t more hours in a day, but I’m thankful for family interventions, my dogs attention, and books and friends to make me take some down time!

    • Hi Eightpawswriting,
      I am glad I’m an inspiration to you to stay organized. I feel like I’m chasing my own tail at times. 😉 I spent some time over the last few days trying something new on my calendar planning. But believe me, there’s no art on it unless underlining and circles count. Sounds like you have lots to entertain you when you have down time. Good to hear. Keep telling yourself you have what it takes to get it done–whatever that might be at the time.

  6. I like the idea of celebrating every day. A pretty table cloth, candles, colorful dishes, silk flowers,colorful clothing, etc. are all decorative “pick me ups.”

    • Janis,
      I like the idea of celebrating every day too. I decided to continue that theme while participating in Just Jot It January. I love your description of decorative “pick me ups.” I bet your table is lovely every day. Thanks for commenting.

Please Leave a Reply

 
