A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Just Jot It January #10

Posted by lindamartinandersen on January 10, 2016


 

A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074        jjj-2016[1]

“A Writer’s Playground”–A place to find wordplay, writing, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart.”

“Just Jot It January #10” by Linda Martin Andersen

I accepted a challenge for January: Just jot a note and submit.  I can’t participate every remaining day this month, but I will join in when I can.

I decided to create a theme to write about:  Today, I celebrate…

Today, I celebrate the big things and the little thingsTomorrow is my dearest friend’s birthday.  That’s a big thingI won’t have access to the internet tomorrow; so I’m posting today.  The timing’s not perfect, but that’s one of the little things that won’t stop me from celebrating.  So today, I celebrate the big things and working through the little things.

Celebrating a BIG THING--Joan's birthday! Clip Art

Celebrating a BIG THING–Joan’s birthday!

To learn more about Joan Edwards, my friend and fellow writer visit here:  https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2016/01/08/under-the-weather-sick-sad-and-then-a-song-brought-a-smile-to-my-face/

Writing Prompts:

  • What do you call a big thing?  A little thing?
  • Name a time you had to switch from Plan A to Plan B.  Was that a big thing or a little thing?  Why?  How did you handle it?
  • What are you celebrating today?

Visit http://lindaghill.com/2015/12/31/just-jot-it-january-2016-rules/ for details about Just Jot It January and to comment on other participants’ posts.

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  I’d love to hear what you’re celebrating today.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

 

8 Responses to “Just Jot It January #10”

  1. Dear Linda,
    How sweet of you to help me celebrate my birthday on your blog! I appreciate it very much. Being on your blog is a high place of honor. I was born on January 11, 1940 in Wilson, NC. The water pipes were frozen solid at the hospital that day, so they had to heat them to get water to wash me! I’ve always thought that was interesting!

    Celebrate you, Linda Martin Andersen.
    Your thoughtfulness and helpfulness spread goodness wherever you go!
    Never Give Up
    Joan

  2. I, too, try very hard to remember my friends’ and family’s birthdays. Other big things are remembering when someone is having a hrad time, ill, had surgery, etc. I use sticky notes on my calendar to remember to call and to help, to encourage, most of all.
    Little things like schedule changes keep me flexible so that the big things take priority.
    This year I am focusing on kindness and hope that it will be contagious.. Kindness and love are big.

    Linda, your friend is so fortunate to havr you as a good friend!
    Best wishes to all this new year.

    Janis

    • Janis, we do have lots of things to remember that are special to us. I love the sticky note reminders especially for sickness, encouragement, etc. Kindness is contagious! I believe it. Thanks for saying the kind things to me about my friendships. I am fortunate to have your friendship also! Thankful for it.

  3. Sweet of you to honor Joan in this way. A big thing: Learning to love the Lord more. A little thing: being happy to have my laptop back. Unfortunately, sometimes I get the big and little mixed up. 🙂

    • Carol,
      You always reflect the love of your Lord. He’s number one in your life and I know it. Little sometimes feels big when we’re missing it–like with your computer when it needed repairs. Carol, you’re a lovely person to the core. Thanks for commenting and sharing your sense of humor.

  4. So happy you’re celebrating Joan’s birthday! HAPPY BIRTHDAY, JOAN!!!!!

Please Leave a Reply

 
