A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Just Jot It January–“Sort of Like”…

Posted by lindamartinandersen on January 19, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074  jjj-2016[1]

“A Writer’s Playground”–A place to find wordplay, writing, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart.”

“Just Jot It January–“Sort of Like”… by Linda Martin Andersen”

I accepted a challenge for January: Just jot a note and submit.  I can’t participate every remaining day this month, but I will join in when I can.

I decided to create a theme to write about:

Today, I Celebrate Things That Are “Sort of Like”… 

IMG_0512

Coyright2016. Linda Martin Andersen

 

When I looked out the window this morning, I saw frost.  I remarked, “It’s sort of like snow.” Understand, I live in the south and this is as close to snow as we get, most of the time.

Last night, I heard a book summary described.  Basically, the reviewer said the book was “sort of like” another title.

Celebrate “Sort of Likes” in your world today.

Writing Prompts:

  1. Write about a “Sort of Like” you’ve said.
  2. What is your favorite food “sort of like?”  For example, some people say “rabbit” tastes sort of like chicken.
  3. Tell about a time a friend shared a story and you shared one “sort of like” it.

Visit http://lindaghill.com/2015/12/31/just-jot-it-january-2016-rules/ for details about Just Jot It January and to comment on other participants’ posts.

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  I’d love to hear what you’re celebrating today.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

16 Responses to “Just Jot It January–“Sort of Like”…”

  1. Dear Linda,
    I remember my Daddy saying, “Squirrel tastes sort of like chicken.”

    It’s a phrase that helps you understand if you’re not familiar with the first, you’ll probably understand it better because it’s similar to something you know. It’s a way we learn. Connecting what we know with something new that we don’t know.

    Thanks for sharing a neat way to celebrate!

    Reading your blog is sort of like seeing a rainbow after a storm. It’s filled with hope and fun reasons to celebrate.

    Never Give Up
    Joan

    • Joan,
      I have to know…did you try the squirrel?

      Yes, you’re right. “It’s sort of like” helps us connect things being compared. I’m glad you liked this celebration topic. Connecting is a great way to celebrate–especially with others! Probably about the best there is!

      Thanks so much for the high compliment about my blog. I love that you made it a “sort of like” comparison too! Bravo! You’re always willing to go the extra mile. Love that about you!

  2. LindaGHill said

    Gorgeous photo! Thanks so much for linking to JusJoJan. I’ll post your link in the comments for my daily entry, so it’s seen by more people. It’s the best place to link back to on any given day. 🙂

  3. Hi Linda, be thankful you only have frost. Got blasted with 50cm of snow (that equals 20 inches, I think). At the moment, I can’t think of anything catchy that is sort of the same. Oh wait, Big Bird on Sesame Street would say, “What one thing is not like the others”. Okay, I blew it. LOL

    • Tracy,
      I’ll settle for frost. Sorry you couldn’t think of an example to share. Tracy, I’d have a hard time calling you out, if I were the referee. I’ll let this one slide as “sort of like” what I had in mind. 😉

  4. Similes and metaphors. Here I come!! See Facebook!

  5. I sort of/like into two categories;
    Words beginning with “O” (of)
    Words beginning with “L” (like)

    I sort of like things to be orderly.

    • Dale, thanks for an orderly look at “Sort of Like.” I like the way your brain works! Thanks for visiting and commenting! Happy Just Jot It January to you.

      • Thank you Linda, that’s a rare compliment indeed, most people just think I’m weird, hahaha

      • Dale, I value creativity. You are an original! About order…I find I’m not too orderly when I use “sort of like.” I feel I’m in that state of limbo, not quite sure how to phrase things. I’m searching for order. Does that make sense? Do my comments fit under “O” or “L” or “neither?”

  6. For me, Linda, this morning – prayer is like spiritual breathing…

Please Leave a Reply

 
