A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Just Jot It January #20–Fortune Cookie Messages

Posted by lindamartinandersen on January 20, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074            jjj-2016[1]

“A Writer’s Playground”–A place to find wordplay, writing, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart.”

“Just Jot It January #20–Fortune Cookie Messages”… by Linda Martin Andersen”

I accepted a challenge for January: Just jot a note and submit.  I can’t participate every remaining day this month, but I will join in when I can.

I decided to create a theme to write about:

Today, I Celebrate Fortune Cookie Messages–silly as they might seem.

I celebrate these neatly hidden surprises that uplift us, even those that seem ridiculous.  It’s all in fun.  Recently, my husband and I shared a takeout order of Chinese.  He said I could have the fortune cookie.

Here’s what I found inside–two messages:

Follow the advice of your heart. And…  Find release from your cares, have a good time.

Generic?  Yes.  Music to my ears? Definitely.  Self-doubting writers need a double dose of each of these fortune cookie messages.

What fortune cookie message would make you smile?

Writing Prompts:

  1.  Write a fortune cookie message.  Write one with a special need in mind.  For example:  “Today, you will hit a homerun.” Ballplayers as well as anyone working on a project or assignment would like this one.
  2. Write two fortune cookie messages.  Make them opposites.  For example:  “Rest and relax today.”  And…”Work hard and you will achieve.”  Imagine placing both in one cookie.  Write about the reaction when the cookie is opened.
  3. Write a fortune cookie message that tells something your mom might say.  For example:  Don’t forget to do your homework or else…

Visit http://lindaghill.com/2016/01/20/just-jot-it-january-20th-surreptitiously/

http://lindaghill.com/2015/12/31/just-jot-it-january-2016-rules/ for details about Just Jot It January and to comment on other participants’ posts.

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  I’d love to hear what you’re celebrating today.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

 

12 Responses to “Just Jot It January #20–Fortune Cookie Messages”

  1. Dear Linda,
    This is a fun post. It does indeed uplift you when you receive a good fortune. Most of the time, the fortunes are very meaningful to the experiences I’m having.

    Your idea of putting contradictory messages in one fortune cookie is a reminder that we have a choice: Is the glass half empty or half full?

    These fortunes plant tiny seeds of possibilities in our minds. A good thing!

    Never Give Up
    Joan

  2. No fortune cookie messages hit my brain this morning…but I like yours. isn’t it funny how something as generic as a fortune cookie can still hit us? Hmm…

  3. sandra214 said

    Fun post, Linda.

    My favorite Fortune Cookie message: “You will LIVE the rest of your life!” So profound! Ha! Ha! My husband and I laugh about it all the time.

    • I love that a fortune cookie message stuck in your head and continues to add humor. We should all LIVE the rest of our lives. No need to just exist. Thanks for sharing. A fun one. I’m glad you enjoyed my post.

  4. Another writer friend of mine actually wrote fortune cookie messages for a company who produced the fortune cookies. Perhaps the two you found were written by her. It’s a small world and quite possible, Linda. 🙂

    • Tracy, thanks for reminding me that a friend of yours wrote fortune cookie messages. I knew I’d heard of someone who did wrote them. I hope the messages I received were indeed from your friend. Thanks for sharing. If I were writing a fortune cookie message based on your photo, I’d say, “Keep on smiling. Your smile brightens the day.”

  5. A genuine FORTUNE cookie, with a winning lottery ticket in works for me.

  6. My, Linda, you are such a clever, enthusiastic person. I enjoyed this post. One time I was at a Chinese restaurant where one of the customers excused herself to go play the numbers on the back of her fortune. I have no idea if she won. Sarah

Please Leave a Reply

 
