A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Just Jot It January #21–Excitement is in the Air

Posted by lindamartinandersen on January 21, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074    jjj-2016[1]

“A Writer’s Playground”–A place to find wordplay, writing, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart.”

“Just Jot It January #21–Excitement is in the Air” by Linda Martin Andersen

I accepted a challenge for January: Just jot a note and submit.  I can’t participate every remaining day this month, but I will join in when I can.

I decided to create a theme to write about:

Today, I Celebrate Excitement is in the Air.

Our area has talk of possible winter precipitation and here in the south that means there’s excitement’s in the air.  Will there be a snow day.? A day off from school?  A delayed opening?  Will there be a chance to build a snowman, go sledding, etc.?

Last night a friend in the Piedmont area saw snow.  We got sleet.  This morning, the ground is clear.  The weather report?   Precipitation should begin before 5 a.m. tomorrow morning.  And for that reason, there’s excitement in the air, although I hope we’re spared the blizzard some places are expected to receive.  In other words, less is better!

Writing Prompts:

  1.  Winter weather can add excitement to the air.  What other things do too?
  2. Have you ever been so excited about something that you thought you would burst?  Tell about it.
  3. Why do you think we say “excitement is in the air” instead of excitement rests on the ground?
  4. When would you say, “less is better?”

Visit http://lindaghill.com/2016/01/20/just-jot-it-january-20th-surreptitiously/

http://lindaghill.com/2015/12/31/just-jot-it-january-2016-rules/ for details about Just Jot It January and to comment on other participants’ posts.

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  I’d love to hear what you’re celebrating today.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

10 Responses to “Just Jot It January #21–Excitement is in the Air”

  1. Dear Linda,
    I saw a few snow flurries yesterday! I think excitement is contagious and flies through the air quickly! I stuck my tongue out to catch a few snowflakes. Funny that we don’t say, “Excitement is on the ground.” Excitement usually means happy, upbeat. Whereas the ground is usually a lowpoint! I don’t know actually. Just talking here.

    My brother in Virginia said they’re expecting two feet of snow!

    Have a good day, with or without snow! I hope you have plenty of food and water in your house! And that everyone with a lot of snow are able to drive safely when they have to drive in it.
    Joan

    • Joan,
      I agree that excitement usually means happy and upbeat. The ground doesn’t sound as exciting somehow. Maybe because we tread on it every day. Thanks for the well wishes to all readers and I’ll pass on the two feet of snow, thank you!

  2. “Excitement in the air” is sort of like how a child feels before a birthday party. AHA! Combining two of your posts together!

    • Bravo, Carol. You get extra credit for combining “sort of like” with “excitement in the air.” We all can relate to how excited a child gets before a birthday party. Thanks for sharing all this clever thinking! I’m not sure what extra credit earns you here at A Writer’s Playground. I’ll have to think on that some more.

  3. I can answer question 4 – I would say ‘less is more’ about snow. Sorry to be a party pooper, but snow makes me anxious!

  4. Less is better more often than we think. Less technology and more time with family, friends and self is an example. So, I am selective in my use of the wonderful “screens” that abound.

    Less talking and more listening is usually better.

    Less “fancy” and “doctored” food is often best. Whole, fresh foods taste best.

    Less is best when clearing my mind, sitting quietly, listening to music, just breathing, praying or meditating.

    I could go on. This is thought provoking,Linda!

    • Janis,
      You’re into deep thought tonight. I agree that less is better in many circumstances. Thanks for pointing out some of them here. I’m glad this conversation stirred so many deep thoughts. I just thought of another one. When selling a house, it is often staged with less nick-knacks, and less furniture. In this case less may mean a better selling price. I agree, Janis, there are probably many more examples of less is better.

  5. Excitement makes me want to float in the air that’s why we probably don’t say excitement rests on the ground. LOL. And snow is great if one loves to ski. And there is excitement when I hear the cold crunch of snow beneath my skiis. ❄️

    • Tracy,
      Thanks for the example of excitement on the ground. I think we could list many others too like on the ball field, etc. By the way, I’d love to see you on snow skiis. Maybe you’ll post photos of you or illustrations of your art friends in the snow.

Please Leave a Reply

 
