A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Just Jot It January #22–Fun Simplicity

Posted by lindamartinandersen on January 22, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074    jjj-2016[1]

“A Writer’s Playground”–A place to find wordplay, writing, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart.”

“Just Jot It January #22–Fun Simplicity” by Linda Martin Andersen

I accepted a challenge for January: Just jot a note and submit.  I can’t participate every remaining day this month, but I will join in when I can.

I decided to create a theme to write about:  I chose “celebrate” which I combined with today’s prompt, “Fun Simplicity.”

Today, I Celebrate Fun Simplicity

Did you know that “fun” is a basic need?  It’s not just for kids.  Everybody needs it.  There are other basic needs of course, but this is definitely an important one.

If I get grumpy, a self-check often reminds me that it’s time for some fun.  Once an uncle of mine went to see a doctor about a rash on his hands.  The physician asked my uncle who had a stressful job what it was he wanted to do that he wasn’t doing.  My uncle said, “Deep sea fishing.”  After going fishing, his rash was gone.  Hmmm.

Writing Prompts:

  1. Name several things you call fun.  Tell more about something on your list.
  2. Why isn’t “fun” the same for everyone?
  3. What would you say in response to “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy?”
  4. What is your number one favorite way to have fun?

Visit http://lindaghill.com/2016/01/22/just-jot-it-january-22nd-felicity/comment-page-1/#comment-67245

http://lindaghill.com/2015/12/31/just-jot-it-january-2016-rules/ for details about Just Jot It January and to comment on other participants’ posts.

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  I’d love to hear what you’re celebrating today.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

 

 

 

Just Jot It January 22nd – Felicity

 

17 Responses to “Just Jot It January #22–Fun Simplicity”

  1. My fun these days is golfing. But believe it or not, it can get too serious when I get mad at myself for not playing as well as I think I should! Then I have to step back, admire the beautiful scenery around me and that I’m outside and exercising. that usually brings me back to reality. And doing it with my husband is fun too. Yep. Fun is important!

    • Carol, I’ve often heard this remark concerning a sport: “It’s just a game.” Sometimes, we do take things too seriously. Although if we play a game often, we do want to make improvements in our performance. Keeping perspective helps.

      Thanks for sharing some of your experiences having fun. Keep it up!

  2. LindaGHill said

    I can believe fun is a basic need. My idea of fun is writing and traveling. 🙂

  3. Fun is a very healthy activity! Thanks for reminding us to do things that are fun!

    …Joan

  4. I couldn’t agree more! Fun is for everyone! 😄 That’s why I use Fun Simplicity as my pen- name, to constantly remind myself (and hopefully everyone who calls me) that fun is simple and we could find fun in simple ways. 😄

  5. Linda, you get grumpy? I don’t believe it. 😀 And stress can and does manifest as in your uncles rash. Glad he rid it by having fun fishing. Fun for me is riding on the back of our Harley at least when there’s no snow. LOL

Please Leave a Reply

 
