A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

St. Patrick’s Day Riddle

Posted by lindamartinandersen on March 17, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074 A Writer’s Playground–a place to find wordplay, writing
prompts, reasons to celebrate, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those
young at heart

“St. Patrick’s Day Riddle” by Linda Martin Andersen

Riddle-for-St-Patricks[1]

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  I hope you enjoyed this one.

And now for the backstory about writing this riddle:

I wrote a post about ways to celebrate March… https://lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/2016/02/29/march-forth-do-something/

and I listed a writing prompt based on Dr. Seuss.  A friend recalled that she had celebrated Dr. Seuss’ birthday with preschoolers who were served green eggs and ham.  I read her comment on St. Patrick’s Day.  I combined Dr. Seuss, green eggs and ham, with St. Patrick’s Day.  Like a three-ingredient recipe.  Sometimes, writing riddles is that simple.

Write a riddle of your own for St. Patrick’s Day Words you might want to include:

shamrock, green, leprechaun, pot of gold, pinch, Irish.

I hope you’ll share your riddle.

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

 

17 Responses to “St. Patrick’s Day Riddle”

  1. Dear Linda,
    I liked your St Patrick’s Day riddle. It was pretty fantastic. You are very clever with words.
    Enjoy your day.

    Never Give Up
    Joan

    • Thanks, Joan. I started out by posting my riddle on Facebook without the green background poster and without the backstory. I soon changed it up and created a blog post. I’m glad you enjoyed the riddle. Thanks for the compliment about being clever with words. That means a lot. I have fun trying!

  2. Bee Halton said

    I’m not sure I would like the green eggs and definitely not the ham (sorry am a veggie). I have started reading a book yesterday which has some chapters in it with recipes for Polish bread and other baked things. I really like that idea and am pondering to incorporate that into my blog maybe. Great post. Thanks for sharing!

    • Even if you do not care for green eggs and ham, you’ve gotta love Dr. Seuss. You are so clever with your blogs, I can see you adding recipes or stories and poems about different foods. Maybe green eggs and ham will even be featured.

  3. Love your riddle and your banner, Linda. You make me smile. Happy St. Patrick’s Day! And I’m not even Irish. LOL ❤️

  4. Kathleen said

    Linda,
    Great idea for a post 🙂
    I’m glad it worked out that way and I wasn’t even thinking about St. Patrick’s Day when I commented!
    Your posts always make me smile 🙂

  5. joyacey said

    Great riddle, Linda. Here is mine.
    Where did Dorothy go to the Saint Patrick’s Day Party?
    The Emerald City.

    Hope you have a great day.

  6. I can’t think of as riddle at the moment but could I contribute this:

    Do join in and happily play
    Come one, come all, don’t delay
    Linda invites you for a big play date
    All you do is merrily participate

    There are games, prompts and riddles galore
    It’s up to you to look and explore
    It can be an illusion or zany rumour
    All you need is a sense of humour

    Yes, laughter and joy is part of the game
    Any day, any time, it’s all the same
    You won’t have time to sit and ponder
    Be prepared instead to break out in wonder

    Welcome to the Writers’ Playground!

    Thank you for visiting my blog Linda! I’m definitely taking up your offer to join in the fun in your playground. 🎈🤗

    • Wendy,
      What a delight! It is so much fun to follow your lead! Thanks so much for inviting others to join in too! I’m sorry I’m so late responding to this. What a wonderful surprise to see this celebration poem! Thank you!

      • Hello Linda, Thank you – I’m glad you like the poem. I’ve been having computer problems so am behind in all my responses. My best to you. 😊🌹🌹

      • I’ve just re-read my impromptu poem and am humbly delighted with it myself. I’m amazed at times at what I write and am feeling blessed. Thank you for the inspiration!

      • Sometimes when we reread our writing, we like it better the second time around. Reminds me of a second serving at a good meal. Thank you for sharing this with me and those who visit A Writer’s Playground. Nice to hear from you again.

Please Leave a Reply

 
