A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

A is for April, Artists, and Aprons

Posted by lindamartinandersen on April 1, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074

A Writer’s Playground–a place to find wordplay, writing prompts, reasons to celebrate, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart  “A is For April, Artists, and Aprons” by Linda Martin Andersen

This month I’m sharing photos and blog posts from A-Z.  I’m excited about trying something new.  I hope you’ll stop by often throughout the month.

A is for April

Check out the participants for the April (2016) Challenge.  There are plenty to choose from http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

A is for Artists

Laura Reeves painted this mural in my kitchen.  Learn more about her here:  http://www.reevesartworks.com/

Laura Reeves. Kitchen Mural. Copyright 2012 Linda Andersen.

Laura Reeves. Kitchen Mural. Copyright 2012 Linda Andersen.

Another artist I’d like to spotlight is Tracy Campbell.  Learn about her and Matilda here:

http://tracycampbell.net/blog/baked-goodness-rising-life-creative-tuesdays/

 

A is for Aprons  (Before and After)https://lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/2015/11/24/before-and-after-apron-remodel/

Apron--Before. Copyright 2015 Linda Martin Andersen

Apron–Before. Copyright 2015 Linda Martin Andersen

Apron--After Copyright 2015 Linda Martin Andersen

Apron–After Copyright 2015 Linda Martin Andersen

What “A” words come to mind for you? I hope you’ll share why they’re special to you.

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

33 Responses to “A is for April, Artists, and Aprons”

  1. Marquessa said

    Great “A” post!

  2. Kathleen said

    All three you showcased have Awesome talent!

  3. Laura’s mural is very cool. Writers are artists too–our paint brushes are our computers. (Not quite as elegant though.) A is for our AWESOME God. 🙂

  4. Kathy, I love them all! Thanks for commenting! You are an artist too!

  5. How cool to start the alphabet with April, Artists, and Aprons!

    Have a great day!

    Never Give Up
    Joan

  6. Lovely idea for the blog challenge. Love the mural and I’m an apron gal myself. @sheilamgood at Cow Pasture Chronicles

  7. Laura did a wonderful job on your kitchen mural. Love seeing your aprons again. Thank you so much for giving my art and my blog a big shout out, Linda ❤️

    • I’m glad you liked the mural, Tracy. I had a photograph of a similar artwork and Laura customized my space using my room’s colors. I love it as much today as the day it went on the wall. You are welcome for the shout out. You are a favorite artist and friend. I’m spotlighting things I love from my blog and friends’ blogs for my A-Z challenge.

  8. Great creative post, Linda! I am checking out the links! My favorite A words is Aspiration!
    Have a great weekend!
    Lori

    My A2Zs @ As the Fates Would Have It & Promptly Written
    Follow Me (Ravyne) Twitter|Facebook

  9. joyacey said

    Linda, darling,
    You forgot ALOHA. The hello and good by. The breath of HA at the end sending love.
    One word will do. You don’t need two because no one ever really leaves us.
    Thank you for helping me to write my poem for yesterday.

    • Joy, any time I inspire your great mind, I am touched! Thanks for all the beautiful poetry you share with others. ALOHA is a terrific “A” word. Thanks for adding it here. I love that no one really leaves us. It makes our lives richer and fuller! It’s always great to hear from you here. Thanks for commenting.

  10. Bee Halton said

    I love the apron. How did you do that? I am not good with sowing. I can do a button, but that’s about it. Even though in school, I managed to sow an elephant with the ancient sowing machine my mother had. A Singer you had to move with a foot pedal 🙂

    • Bee, thanks for the compliment. I bought the apron and my mom altered it by putting stripes across the top. The fabric was cut off the bottom of the skirt, which was too long. The top seemed too red for the pinks in the skirt. My goal was to tone it down some.

      I would love to have seen your elephant. I made a donkey costume once for my son. I’ve made a few clothes, but sewing is not my thing. I came up with the idea and my mother made it a reality.

      Thanks for commenting. Have a great week.

  11. Thanks Linda for including me in your blog!

  12. Soul Gifts said

    I love the before and after apron photos – a time before when aprons were a standard must wear item of clothing. I still use them for messy work, but mine are not anywhere near as fancy. ‘Appropriate’ to task ! Thank you for the follow, much ‘Appreciated’ 🙂

    • Hi and welcome,
      I have aprons appropriate to the task too! I wear an apron from my waitress days to work in the yard, cook, etc. It has great deep pockets. I’m glad you liked the before and after photos of my quilted apron.

      Thanks again for visiting and commenting. And it was my pleasure to follow your blog!

      • Soul Gifts said

        I used to have a peg apron for hanging out the washing. God I loved that apron! Got worn to shreds and then replaced by one of those aluminium tins that hang on the pole. End of an apron era.

      • I kept the peg apron that belonged to my mother. It is not in great shape but I have it and some other old wash day things on display in a glass front standing cupboard next to my washer and dryer. Old framed advertisements for wash day products hang above my appliances. It’s a collection I especially like. Too bad aluminum tins replaced the apron. There’s something special about tying one on. Thanks so much for continuing this conversation here! I enjoyed it very much!

Please Leave a Reply

 
