A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

D is for 9 1/2 David

Posted by lindamartinandersen on April 5, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074

A Writer’s Playground–a place to find wordplay, writing prompts, reasons to celebrate, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart  “D is for 9 1/2 David” by Linda Martin Andersen

This month I’m sharing photos and blog posts from A-Z.  I’m excited about trying something new.  I hope you’ll stop by often throughout the month.

Check out the participants for the April (2016) Challenge.  There are plenty to choose from http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

Just so you know, my selection for “D” may not seem to quite fit.  Stick with me!

D is for 9 1/2 David

9 1/2 David. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

9 1/2 David. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

  • My husband wears a 9 1/2 D shoe.  When he goes to the shoe store, he asks for a 9 1/2 David and the clerk never seems to bat an eye.  She returns with just what he asked for.  My husband learned to ask for his size this way years ago.  Maybe it’s part of the shoe trade talk.  Other family shoe trivia: My dad wore a double d width. My older grandson wears a bigger size shoe than his dad and he’s only 14.  I understand he may soon outgrow the stocked sizes.  If his next shoes have to be special ordered,  I imagine that will be rather expensive.
  • Perhaps you have special shoe shopping needs.  I have a narrow heel with a wide foot, which makes it difficult to find a non-lace shoe that fits.  For dress shoes, I tend to stick to a name brand that usually fits pretty well.  How about you?  Shoes…do you love them or hate them? 

More about shoes–but no reference to “D,” unless D is for Darlings–little darlings. Little Darlings’ shoes.  Little Darlings’ bronzed shoes.  (Please excuse the dust and the imperfect finish)

Bronzed Baby Shoes. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

Bronzed Baby Shoes. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

  • When young parents begin their family, they often keep baby books, scrapbooks, photo albums, or may even consider a tradition that goes back to the 1930s or so–  Bronzed baby shoes http://www.americanbronzing.com/  Have you ever seen any bronzed shoes?  Were they placed on bookends, like these?

Even more about shoes and a connection to another “D.”  D is for dumped shoes. Yes, dumped.  Lost, thrown away, dumped.

FINAL COVER September 30 copy - Version 3 (2)

 

A word from Jennifer Larson, author and collector:  “Over the years, I’ve photographed more than 100 lone shoes. I’m always on the lookout for the next one. If you have a lost sole find and want to share, please visit my website www.authorjenniferlarson.com. I love receiving photographs of lost soles from everywhere.” To keep up with Jennifer’s latest finds, follow her blog at www.authorjenniferlarson.blogspot.com.

What “D” words come to mind for you? I hope you’ll share why they’re special to you.

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

14 Responses to “D is for 9 1/2 David”

  1. Jennifer Larson’s hobby of photographing lone shoes tickled me. I took a picture once, not of a lone shoe, but pairs of alone shoes. I was hiking with my Girl Scouts down a rural road in KY when we came upon a huge poplar tree. Hanging from a horizontal limb were shoes. Pairs tied together by the laces and pitched up there, somehow. It was truly the most unexpected sight and one I’ve never forgotten. How? Why? Who? I can’t imagine. There were work boots, hiking boots, saddle shoes, all kinds of oxfords, white baby shoes, every size. Jennifer should check that out!

    • Deanna, what a fascinating story about pairs of shoes of all kinds hanging from a tree in a rural area in Kentucky. Thanks for sharing it. I hope Jennifer will check that out too. Have you ever thought of writing something that features the tree you spotted with the Girl Scouts? I believe you could capture that well.

  2. quiall said

    I have had a love affair with shoes since I first knew what a love affair was. A ‘D’ word . . .hummm . . .Dastardly Delicious Deck Shoes!

  3. Interesting story about 9 1/2 David. What comes to my mind: D is for doughnuts that I rarely eat, and devotion to the Lord–which I need more of. Enjoying this free association!

    • Carol, I consider you a strong servant of the Lord. Your daily devotion/prayer group is one example of faith in action. Yes, we could all improve of course. I’m so glad you’re enjoying this free association. Now that you mentioned doughnuts, you’ll probably crave them all day and me too. 😉

  4. I missed the memo on women’s obsession with shoes. ☺

    • Thanks for commenting! Yes, I know many women who are obsessed with shoes and shoe shopping. That’s one reason I asked if readers love shoes or not. At this stage of my life, I love my bedroom shoes and sneakers. 😉

  5. I’ve never heard anyone ask or refer to shoes as a size + David. I used to have quite a shoe obsession and spent most of the money I made on designer shoes and handbags. That was before I had children. I still like to purchase one or two nice pair of shoes per year and one purse, but now that I have kids my priorities have changed and I find myself willing to settle for knock off handbags and last year’s sales items in the shoe department. I once had over 800 pair of shoes. I’d call that an obsession. I’m down to about 100 now. I don’t have my own kids shoes bronzed, I didn’t even know they did that anymore, but my mom has all of my brothers and sisters and and a pair of mine bronzed. They are really kind of cool looking.

    Melissa Sugar
    http://melissasugarwrites.com

    • Melissa, I enjoyed your response. I also appreciated you sharing your passion with us. Motherhood curbed your spending some so you could provide for your chidren’s needs. A reflection of true love! I would have like to have seen your closet when it was at its max! Thanks for commenting!

  6. First some D words to add to the list and then a shoe story. D is for diligence, delight, devotion, distance and dalliance.
    Now the shoe story. Just after college, when I was exploring what I wanted to do with my life, I worked as a buyer-in-training in Washington, DC at the now defunct Hecht Company department store. My boss, the Vice President of Hecht’s and I were walking down the street to go to lunch. I was wearing my black, 3 inch heels, which were left over from my party days at the Univ. of Maryland. I forgot I had worn them to a frat party, where all the girls were dancing in their bare feet on the beer-washed floor. After the party, we put our shoes back on and went home.
    So, several months later here I am striding down the street with my boss and the VP at a good clip. I took one more step and flipped my right shoe about 20 feet down the sidewalk. The VP gallantly fetched the shoe and handed it back to me. I thanked him and looked in horror at the inside of the shoe. It was stained black with dried up beer and floor dirt. Eeew. Mr. Hecht never said I word and I never danced bare foot again.

    • I liked your contribution to “D” words. Thank you.

      Sarah, you tell great stories. I know the moment that shoe flipped must have been an embarassing, but it’s great that you were out with such gentlemen.

      I’m glad our career paths crossed! Thanks for playing!

  7. Adorable bronze shoes, Linda. I do remember Jennifer’s “Lost Soles” book. Thanks for sharing it again. 🙂

    • Hi Tracy,
      I wonder how many young people today have ever seen bronze shoes. Thanks for commenting on them and on Jennifer’s book. I hope your coloring book is almost ready. I think I need one to keep me relaxed and de-stressed. I used to color a lot as a child and loved it.

Please Leave a Reply

 
