A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

I is for Ignite–as in Lightning Strike and Write2Ignite!

Posted by lindamartinandersen on April 11, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074

 

A Writer’s Playground–a place to find wordplay, writing prompts, reasons to celebrate, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart  “I is for Ignite–as in Lightning Strike and Write2Ignite!” by Linda Martin Andersen

This month I’m sharing photos and blog posts from A-Z.  I’m excited about trying something new.  I hope you’ll stop by often throughout the month.

Check out the participants for the April (2016) Challenge.  There are plenty to choose from http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

I is for Ignite–as in Lightning Strike

Lightning Strike. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

Lightning Strike. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

Lightning Strike--on Fire. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

Lightning Strike–on Fire. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

The photos above were taken after a lighting strike near my son’s house.  He called 911, but the fire department wouldn’t respond to a lone tree in a field.  Would you have expected that response?

Here is a video of a lightning strike:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sn65RFvJKnk

For your safety, read these myths and facts about lightning:

http://www.lightningsafety.noaa.gov/myths.shtml

I is for Ignite–as in Write to Ignite!

Write2Ignite holds an annual conference for Christian writers who write for children.  If you missed the April 1-2, 2016 conference held near Greenville, SC, perhaps you would like learn more about Write2Ignite here and join them in 2017.  Please tell them Linda Andersen sent you.

http://write2ignite.com/welcome-to-write2ignite-2016/

http://write2ignite.com/about/

What “I” words come to mind for you? I hope you’ll share why they’re special to you.

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

24 Responses to “I is for Ignite–as in Lightning Strike and Write2Ignite!”

  1. I is for ideas and imagination. As writers we need both!!

  2. cdcoffelt said

    We had a tree smolder for days after a lightening strike. Write2Ignite sounds great. Love the unique title. We all need a fire lit under us at times, lol
    CD Coffelt at UnicornBell

    • What a pleasant surprise to find this comment, fellow A-Z Blogging Challenge participant. I love your blog and am going to sign up and learn more about your submissions process, as well as the wonderful selection of tips and posts for writers.

      Trees hit by lightning do smolder a long time. Isn’t the expression about needing a fire lit under us an interesting one?

      Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting! I look forward to our connection.

  3. I love that lightning photo! Poor tree, though 😦

  4. My mother used to hide the newspaper from me when there was coverage of a lightning strike. She didn’t want me to be any more scared than I already was of lightning. But then she taught me to see the beauty in the flashes.
    I are words are: ignominious, because it’s such a wonderful sounding word and my brother Bill, who died in 2013, loved the word.. Ingenious and illustrative evoke good images for me. I’ve been planning my words ahead of your posts, Linda, so I’ll be ready to participate.

  5. I is for innovation. Every creative idea or project or thought represents innovation.

  6. Cynthia said

    Hello from A to Z, Linda. I’m surprised that the fire dept. wouldn’t respond to the “lone tree” that got struck. The fire in that lone tree could very quickly spread.

  7. Whoa! That tree is a sight to behold! No, I can Imagine the fire department not showing up. My word was I for imagine, Linda. 😀

    • I imagine… instead of “I” for imagine. I like the way the two words flow with action sure to follow. Well done, my creative friend. Thanks for adding to the list of “I” words.

      Thank goodness, the tree never caused a threat to anything else.

  8. Bee Halton said

    That’s a shame for the tree but I believe trees are quite resilient and it probably grows again. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  9. Great photo of the tree at your son’s place. Scary stuff. A great metaphor however for all of us. When we had the farm we had a few lightning strikes cause fires. Luckily we got a better response than your fire department gave your son.

    • Irene, I’d love to hear your metaphor to go along with the tree struck by lightning. I’m trying to form one, but not sure I’m on the right track. I’m glad you had a better response from the fire department when you had lightning strikes at the farm you used to own. Thanks so much for commenting.

      • I was thinking more along the ignition side that we all need a bolt of lightning to light the passion inside us whether it be writing or something else. Metaphor perhaps isn’t quite the right term.

      • Yes, we do all need an ignition sometimes. I feel blessed that I received one yesterday–not a lightning strike, but an outpouring of love from many! What a great day! Not splitting hairs over terms–just wanted your viewpoint and thanks for sharing it! I’m happy I met you and I’m enjoying getting to know you through your writing and photos.

  10. godselfie said

    We are situated in one of the lightning capitals of the world, averaging 186 lightning days a year. And we still haven’t gotten used to it.
    Once, i was kneeling at prayer when lightning suddenly struck above our building. I could literally feel myself jump on my knees! Renee

    • That’s a lot of lighting strike days a year! I pray you and your family will stay safe. Some things make us jump no matter how often we hear them. I have always lived near a military base and I still notice when Fort Bragg is having target practice. I don’t usually jump because the sound is a ways off, but it still gets my attention. Keep safe, Renee.

Please Leave a Reply

 
