A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

J is for Jack and Jill, Jack Rocks, and Jack-in-the Box

Posted by lindamartinandersen on April 12, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074

 

A Writer’s Playground–a place to find wordplay, writing prompts, reasons to celebrate, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart  “J is for Jack and Jill, Jack Rocks, and Jack-in-the-Box” by Linda Martin Andersen

This month I’m sharing photos and blog posts from A-Z.  I’m excited about trying something new.  I hope you’ll stop by often throughout the month.

Check out the participants for the April (2016) Challenge.  There are plenty to choose from http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

J is for Jack and Jill (and other nursery rhymes)

Jack and Jill
Went up the hill
To fetch a pail of water,
Jack fell down
And broke his crown
And Jill came tumbling after.
Up Jack got
And home did trot
As fast as he could caper,
Went to bed
To mend his head
With vinegar and brown paper. Author: Unknown

Is there still room in a child’s life for simple games, play, and toys?  I believe so.  Check out this website if you need a refresher on rhymes, fingerplays and songs:

http://www.nenpl.org/childrens/bibliographies/titles/rhymes.php

J is for Jack Rocks

Do you remember how to play?  Here’s a video to review the rules:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OwmCInS2pIM

J is for Jack-in-the-box

Fun things are worth repeating even when we know the outcome.  A Jack-in-the-box works the same way every time and yet we keep cranking that handle.  Kids love it, except for those who are perhaps too young and scared by a clown or other object jumping out at them.  If you have a young child who doesn’t enjoy this toy, look for other old-fashioned toys to add to the nursery.  Do you know the tune that the toy plays?  Maybe newer versions have a different tune.  I’m not sure.  Are you?

Here’s a riddle just for you:

Riddle:  What do Jack and Jill, Jack rocks, Jack-in-the-box, and a noisy blue bird all have in common?

Answer: “J” as in Blue Jay.

Just for fun: 

My in-laws chose names beginning with “J” for all five of their children.  They include Jo Alice, John, Jill, Jeff, and James (Jimbo).

What “J” words come to mind for you? I hope you’ll share why they’re special to you.

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

22 Responses to “J is for Jack and Jill, Jack Rocks, and Jack-in-the Box”

  1. Joy!

  2. I love nursery rhymes of any kind.

    J is a strong sounding letter. I named my son Jonah. ❤️

  3. My friends and I were just talking about the children’s games that we used to play. Do you remember these? “Old Lady Witch What Time is it?” or how about “Red Light, Green Light”? We played them outside without any “technology” – just us and our two feet (each). I found you through the A to Z Challenge. Happy blogging! http://www.dianeweidenbenner.com

    • I don’t know the game called “Lady Witch What Time is it?” I’ll have to look it up. I did play “Red Light, Green Light.” Thanks for checking out my site and commenting here. It was fun to have you here. I’m heading over to read your post.

  4. Kathleen said

    I definitely remember the JACK AND JILL nursery rhyme, but only the first 6 lines. I had never heard the last 6 before. Again, you have taught me something new 🙂
    Thank you, Linda

  5. Bee Halton said

    jumping up and down 🙂

  6. I think “Jack and Jill” was a Mother Goose poem, meaning there’s some political meaning behind it.

    Kids love Jack-in-the-box, don’t they? You’d think they’d be traumatized suddenly having a clown spring out of a box like that…

    • John, you’re a “J” too. Thanks for commenting. I know you’re busy making your rounds for A-Z Challenge participants.

      I’d never heard that there was political meaning behind Mother Goose poems. Too bad, literature can’t just be literature.

      Jack-in-the-box might traumatize some. I can’t speak to that. Surprise usually goes over well with most of us though.

      Keep visiting all those blogs! You are appreciated.

  7. I’ve never heard Jumping Jacks called Jack Rocks. J stands for juicy, jungle gym, January, judicious and John Jacob Jingleheimer-Smith. Looking forward to L. Hee hee!

    • Sarah, I think of exercise for Jumping Jacks and Jack Rocks are a game with Jacks and a ball. Oh, I have great jungle gym memories and of course I know John Jacob Jingleheimer-Smith. Such fun! Thanks for making this A-Z challenge great fun for me and others.

  8. Thank you for making me hum and skip along. Thinking of growing up years 😉

    • I’d love to hum and skip right along side you, Jacqueline. Thanks so much for playing along. By the way, I’ve tried to leave comments on your site and it’s so full I can’t seem to get to the place to leave a comment. What a nice problem to have. 😉

  9. Dear Linda,
    I love playing jacks! It is a fun game!

Please Leave a Reply

 
