A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

L is for Librarian, Ladder and Literary Litter

Posted by lindamartinandersen on April 14, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074

 

A Writer’s Playground–a place to find wordplay, writing prompts, reasons to celebrate, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart  “L is for Librarian, Ladder, and Literary Litter” by Linda Martin Andersen

This month I’m sharing photos and blog posts from A-Z.  I’m excited about trying something new.  I hope you’ll stop by often throughout the month.

Check out the participants for the April (2016) Challenge.  There are plenty to choose from http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

L is for Librarian

I have been fortunate to know several great librarians.  Today, I’m sharing an archived post by Pat Strobel, a former co-worker and a terrific elementary school librarian.  I also want to give a shout out for Robin Deffendall,  who is a fantastic reference librarian and the leader of a face-to-face writer’s group I attend called WORN: Write On, Right Now.  Hooray for Librarians!

Writing Prompt:  Tell about a librarian who is special in your life.

https://lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/2013/04/09/books-reading-libraries-still-awesome-by-pat-strobel-a-national-board-certified-school-librarian/

securedownload[2]

 

L is for Ladder

My living room and dining room décor has a Japanese influence.  Once while on vacation, my husband spotted this bamboo ladder and wanted to purchase it for the dining room.  I agreed.  It displays nothing at times, linens cloths at others, and sometimes Christmas cheer.

Writing Prompts:  What have you brought home from a vacation as a souvenir for yourself?  How are a ladder and success sometimes linked?

Bamboo Ladder. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

Bamboo Ladder. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

Bamboo Ladder decorated at Christmas. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

Bamboo Ladder decorated at Christmas. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

 

L is for Litter–the puppy kind

Have you ever written so many revisions of a manuscript that you’re not sure which one is “the one?” Most writers are probably shaking their heads in agreement.  I found this article to be a fun way to look at this.

“Loving Your Literary Litter” by Hayley Barrett of Emu’s Debuts.

https://emusdebuts.wordpress.com/2016/04/05/loving-your-literary-litter/

Writing Prompts:  Have you ever picked a puppy from a litter to be your own?  Tell about a pet experience.

 

What “L” words come to mind for you? I hope you’ll share why they’re special to you.

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

22 Responses to “L is for Librarian, Ladder and Literary Litter”

  1. Love.

  2. Dear Linda,
    L is for listen!

    Love you!

  3. joyacey said

    I love your L’s. My favorite is my librarian too. I like you husband’s ladder too.

    • Joy,
      I’m glad you have a favorite librarian too. I hope you are able to line up programs for kids in your local public library. Thanks for the compliment on the ladder. It’s also a good reminder of a fun vacation.

  4. My maternal grandmother, Granny, was the librarian in our town. First as the unaffiliated librarian, but later helped organize the Montgomery County, MD, library system. She helped instill a great love of reading in all of us. Listen is a favorite L word of mine, because if you listen to what others say you learn a lot.
    But, because I love the sounds of words, how about licorice–yum!–or licentious–hmm. How about labyrinth–what lurks around the corner–or likeable? Love and longing are good words, as are legal and loyal.
    On the puppy issue. We had a chocolate Lab, which we named Jazz’s Double Dutch and called Dutch. When we went to pick a puppy from the litter, Dutch took off from the rest raced down the yard to the boat dock and jumped, spread eagle, into the Magothy River in Maryland. Dale said “that’s the dog for us.” He was a wonderful dog, but it’s a good thing we lived in the country. He needed lots of room to run. Thanks again, Linda, for letting me run on. Love to you all.

    • Sarah,
      You have so much richness in your life. I learn more and more about you each post. I loved the story of Dutch, the dog who knew where he wanted to live. I greatly admire your grandmother and the positive influence she had on you and many more young children who loved libraries and reading. Thanks for adding for “L” words too. You know how to bring fun to “A Writer’s Playground.”

  5. Bee Halton said

    Blimey, you challenge us a bit with your writing prompts. However, it’s half eleven at night in my corner of the world and I can’t do nomore 🙂

  6. L is for “Linda”, and we just can’t do any better than that. 🤗

  7. Great post. Litter – I’ve picked out puppies to be my own from various litters over the years. My first memory of doing so (I haven’t even learned how to read yet) was when my aunt’s dogs had puppies. Willem, a fox-terrier, was loyal only to me – and had quite a temper if anyone else wanted to touch him. Ah, to not be held accountable for my fur-friend’s behaviour… These days I have Rottweilers and have to mind their manners and actions when they interact with others all the time 🙂 Good luck with the rest of the AtoZchallenge.

    • I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a fox-terrier. Seems like the combination would make one smart dog. Such loyalty too. Picking from a litter must be fun. I’ve never done that. I’m enjoying learning more about you and I thank you very much for commenting on my blog. Please visit again soon.

  8. I enjoyed your post and love your website! Visiting from atoz

    • Thanks for commenting on my blogpost. I’m very glad you enjoyed your visit. I found your blog and I liked how you featured different elements of stories to fulfill the A-Z Blogging Challenge. Smart! I decided to follow your blog and I look forward to future posts.

  9. Linda, I don’t recall a favorite librarian. Growing up I wasn’t allowed to talk in the library, so I quickly checked out my books, and then made myself scarce. LOL I too, think ladders make perfect decor items and your ladder decorated with Christmas items, sure cheered up your corner. I know I would love your home. It looks so country-cozy. My favorite style. 🙂

    • Librarians are priceless. Maybe you can talk to one the next time you’re in the library. Introduce yourself and share your skills with the children’s department and you may get a chance to do a program.

      I’m glad you liked my ladder. If you visited, I imagine you’d share some great ideas for decorating with me. Thanks for all the cheer you spread. It’s a pleasure to have you here.

  10. Growing up I loved the library. When I would visit my grandmother for the summer she would drop me off and I would be there for a few hours. It’s sad but I think that libraries will become a thing of the past due to the Internet.

    • Cheryl,
      Where I’m from some people come to the library just to use the computer lab. Others check out DVDs. Libraries provide quality programs for children and some for adults too. I don’t recall those when I was a child. I like that I can request books online and have them delivered to the library closest to my home. I think the library changes with the times about as well as anyone could expect. I believe our area will have public libraries way beyond my lifetime and maybe until the end of time. I’d like to think so anyway. Thanks so much for commenting. I’m glad this post brought back great memories of visits with your grandmother and time at the library there. Thanks for sharing.

Please Leave a Reply

 
