A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

M is for Monkeys, Mamas, and Manuscripts

Posted by lindamartinandersen on April 15, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074

 

A Writer’s Playground–a place to find wordplay, writing prompts, reasons to celebrate, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart  “M is for Monkeys, Mamas, and Manuscripts” by Linda Martin Andersen

This month I’m sharing photos and blog posts from A-Z.  I’m excited about trying something new.  I hope you’ll stop by often throughout the month.

Check out the participants for the April (2016) Challenge.  There are plenty to choose from http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

Believe or not, monkeys, mamas, and manuscripts are connected in my mind.  I have two manuscripts out at this time.  One is about monkeys and other zoo animals.  The other is loosely based on a character who reminds me of my mama.

If you’re a writer, I challenge you to…

think of two or more “M” topics you have written about in manuscripts.  If that’s too restrictive, you chose what to share.

M is for Monkeys

Monkeys are fun.  Curious George, a famous monkey, was one of my children’s favorite book characters.   Maybe that’s one reason I chose to include monkeys in a manuscript.  Plus, I always loved the song/book “Ten Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed.”  Maybe you’d like to hear it too.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSGxfOojzE8

When my friend, Joan Edwards, invited me to spend a weekend with her, she surprised me with a beanie monkey to keep me motivated while writing my zoo manuscript.   MOTIVATED–another “M” word.  Here’s the monkey’s photo.  I have him displayed on my mantle, among cork framed sculptures and looking down on my writing desk.  I appreciate Monkey cheering me on.

Monkey from Joan Edwards. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

Monkey from Joan Edwards. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

 

M is for Mamas

My mother has always been very supportive of my writing.  She has read rough drafts for me and let me know where things needed clarifying.  I decided to write a story loosely based on her as a child.  I am waiting to hear back on that submission.  My mama’s not your typical Mama.  Proof is in the pictures.

Gayle Martin on a zero-turn mower. Copyright 2014. Linda Andersen

Gayle Martin on a zero-turn mower. Copyright 2014. Linda Andersen

Gayle Martin on a mission trip to Haiti. She paints, she builds benches, etc.

Gayle Martin on a mission trip to Haiti. She paints, she builds benches, etc.

M is for Manuscripts

I keep sending them, and they (publishers) keep sending them back.  Actually, I’m joshing/joking a little.  I have sold some magazine stories, articles, activities, and poems.  I’ve had teacher guides published too.  So, I’m not really complaining.  Rejections happen, just like life happens.

Who else has manuscripts out there that you’re waiting to hear back from?  Good luck!  So what are you doing in the meantime?  Writing something else, I hope.

What “M” words come to mind for you? I hope you’ll share why they’re special to you.

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

14 Responses to “M is for Monkeys, Mamas, and Manuscripts”

  1. Patricia Strobel said

    Loved the pictures of your mama. Lots of rejections before they realize you’ve written gems!

    • Pat, my favorite school librarian, how nice to read a comment from you. I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures of my mother. Isn’t she something else?

      Thanks for encouraging me to keep sending work out there. I hope someone realizes they’ve received gems soon. 😉

  2. Your mamma is amazing. We have a zero-turn mower, which I’ve used one or two times, but it scares me, so Dale does the mowing. When we were on our farm, I regularly used our John Deere tractor with no problem, but I never got the hang of the zero-turn. My hat is off to your mother.

    My novel, “Terror’s Identity,” is a mystery thriller. It’s available through http://www.sablebooks.org, Next Chapter Books, http://www.sarahsbookreflections, and, now, Amazon

    The middle-grade novel I’m revising, “Emily’s Ride to Courage,” is a horse story, but Emily’s mother is in danger setting up medical clinics in Afghanistan.

    My M words are: Miracle, mischievous, maligned, merry, misanthropic. So now I’m thinking N words.

    • Sarah,
      No need to fret about the zero-turn mower. You are comfortable around horses and yet others are afraid of them. I’ll be sure to tell my mother that someone took their hat was off to her. She won’t consider what she does a big deal, but I declare that she is a big deal.

      So happy for you and your mystery thriller’s release. I hope followers here will take a look. I’m enjoying reading your MG novel right now. Thanks for that privilege.

      I love your “M” words, especially miracle and merry. Thanks so much for playing at A Writer’s Playground. You know how to make word play fun!

  3. Dear Linda,
    So glad the your purple monkey is still cheering you on. I saw him at Jo Ann Fabrics and had to get him for you! He begged and begged me to buy him. How could anyone turn down those dreamy eyes and smooth fur?

    I have plenty of manuscripts! Plenty of rejections!

    You are fun, fun, fun!

    • Motivating Monkey, rah, rah, rah. Thanks so much for my purple monkey. I love him and you too! 😉

      Manuscripts sometimes get a “yes” and sometimes a “no.” It’s part of the process. Gotta keep trying. And I will.

  4. I love the fact that you included your mama in this post. My mother was one of my best fans too. I miss her… And yes, M is for those manuscripts that we keep sending out with hopes they’ll find their home–before Mañana!

    • Carol,
      I’m glad you liked that I included my mama for “M.” It’s good to hear that your mother was supportive of your writing too. Yes, a published manuscript would be great news, any time now.

  5. Good luck with the manuscripts. How fun you have a Monkey Mascot/Muse. And what a delightful photo and memories of your mama.

    • Deborah,
      Thanks so much for commenting here. I am glad you enjoyed the post and photos. I appreciate the good luck message for my manuscripts. I wish you well on all you’re working on too. The purple monkey with the big eyes is a fun muse and mascot. Two more “M”s. Must be meant to be!

  6. Linda, you’ve been holding out on us your faithful readers. I’m thrilled to read you’ve been published! Yay! You need to share this kind of news more often. I’ve no doubt your mama was proud of you. I won’t show my hubby the picture of your mom riding the lawn mower or he’ll have me outside doing the same thing. Yikes! And what an inspiring photo of your mom helping in Haiti!

    • Thanks, Tracy. I didn’t mean to hold out from my faithful followers. I do have published stories, activities, teacher guides, and such. A book is a possibility too. Just working on the timing and product. 😉 I laughed when I read your comment about not sharing my mom’s photo for fear you’d be expectd to mow. Funny! My mother does like to work and help others. She’s pretty amazing.

  7. P.S. I love monkeys too. And Joan’s monkey is so adorable. Glad you wrote about monkeys too! Oh, and curious George is my most favorite monkey of all time. I actually watched an old Curious George show a couple of weeks ago. 🙂

  8. Tracy, I’m glad we both like monkeys, purple ones, famous ones, and silly ones too. Thanks for letting me know.

Please Leave a Reply

 
