A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

T is for Tractor, Turkey, and Thinking on Your Feet

Posted by lindamartinandersen on April 23, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074

 

A Writer’s Playground–a place to find wordplay, writing prompts, reasons to celebrate, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart  “T is for Tractor, Turkey, and Thinking on Your Feet” by Linda Martin Andersen

This month I’m sharing photos and blog posts from A-Z.  I’m excited about trying something new.  I hope you’ll stop by often throughout the month.

Check out the participants for the April (2016) Challenge.  There are plenty to choose from http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

T is for Tractor

Every fall, our family has an annual hayride held on farm property surrounding our home.  Our son drives his tractor that pulls a trailer lined with straw and filled with children’s laughter.  I have blogged about our hayride here:  https://lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/2012/10/22/our-annual-hayride-a-fall-family-tradition/

 

 T is for Turkey

IMG_0645

Yesterday, I was considering what “T” words to spotlight when two wild turkeys crossed our backyard.  I wasn’t able to photograph them, but one thing I have learned to do is to credit great photographers when I meet them.  Check out Tim and Mary Livingston’s art and photos of turkeys.  You’ll love their blogs too.

https://theforesterartist.com/2015/03/20/get-your-strut-on-its-spring/

https://theforesterartist.com/2013/11/28/make-yourself-at-home-i-made-turkey/

Sneaking Bliss Blog with Mary A. Livingston:

Turkeys–

https://sneakingbliss.com/2015/11/26/whimsday-bliss-turkey-dinner-old-school-3/

And bears–

https://sneakingbliss.com/2015/07/31/guess-whos-coming-to-dinner/

T is for Thinking on Your Feet

Feet by Linda Martin Andersen. Copyright 2016

Feet by Linda Martin Andersen. Copyright 2016

http://idioms.thefreedictionary.com/think+on+feet

I am not the most mechanically minded one in the family by any stretch of the imagination, but I take comfort in being able to think on my feet some times.  It feels good to be able to solve something when you haven’t plotted and planned in advance.  My reaction:  “I want to scream and shout and let it all out”– Scream and Shout  by Will.i.am and Brittney Spears:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kYtGl1dX5qI

Name a time when you were quick at thinking on your feet.   How did you react?  Internally?  Externally?

Thanks for playing along!

What “T” words come to mind for you? I hope you’ll share why they’re special to you.

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

18 Responses to “T is for Tractor, Turkey, and Thinking on Your Feet”

  1. Dear Linda,
    Thanks for sharing your intriguing thoughts for the letter “T.”
    Thanks and thoughts come to my mind!

    Have a fun day!

  2. T is for Thankful for getting just outside Greenville, SC today. Yeah! (I like the feet pic too)

    • Carol,
      I’m so glad to hear that things are going according to plan. Hooray! What a relief. And thank you for taking the time to play the “T” game. I know how busy you are. I’m glad you liked the feet picture. It was the only thing I could think to photograph. 😉

  3. Thunderstorms, tumescence, tumultuous, timid, thankful and my father’s name, Thompson Brooke Maury III. Dale and his family raised turkeys on their dairy farm in Upstate NY. He says they’re the stupidest animal he’s ever been around. Trout, on the other hand are wily and also taste good. I’m sorry we’re almost done with the alphabet, Linda. This has been fun.

    • Sarah,
      I didn’t even think of thunderstorms and yet we’ve had some recently. I bet your husband can tell some good turkey stories or maybe play us a turkey trot. It does my heart good to know that you’ve having so much fun with this A-Z challenge. Maybe you could start up a word game to add to your blog. I know you could make it fun!

  4. Arlee Bird said

    Back in my years of touring one-nighters with a road show I had to think on my feet continually. A lot of our venues presented unique challenges that forced us to find ways to adapt. As the company manager a lot of those decisions were left up to me. I enjoyed figuring things like that out.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    • Arlee,
      I have a feeling you were good at thinking on your feet. Company managers with traveling gigs need to be! Thanks for sharing your experience. It was great to have you join us here. Come again soon!

  5. I thought of tea and tortoise. 🙂

    • Jacqueline,
      I’ve been enjoying some hot tea in the evenings lately. I am glad you mentioned it and tortoise. Both bring a smile. Thanks so much for taking time to play along! Great to have you here.

  6. Yvonne V said

    The tractor ride sounds like a fun tradition!

    Visiting from A to Z,
    Yvonne V

  7. Yvonne V said

    The tractor ride is a fun tradition!

    Visiting from A to Z,
    Yvonne V

  8. Linda, you were thinking on your feet, providing the photos of the turkey and the tractor-pull. I love riding on a wagon pulled by a tractor, especially when out hunting for a Christmas TREE. 🙂

    • Tracy,
      Thanks for saying I was thinking on my feet. I try! I love the idea of riding on a wagon pulled by a tractor when selecting a Christmas tree. I can imagine you singing carols and sipping hot chocolate afterwards. A picture as lovely as a Christmas card! Maybe we need to come up with a spring tradition that involves a tractor and wagon. We could use on to plant a community garden. Other ideas?

  9. Traci York said

    Terrific idea! Totally think that “T” is a tremendously talented letter. Thanks for the transcendent treatise! ~T

Please Leave a Reply

 
