A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

X is for Box, X-Ray, and XOXO

Posted by lindamartinandersen on April 28, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074

 

A Writer’s Playground–a place to find wordplay, writing prompts, reasons to celebrate, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart  “X is Box, X-Ray, and XOXO” by Linda Martin Andersen

This month I’m sharing photos and blog posts from A-Z.  I’m excited about trying something new.  I hope you’ll stop by often throughout the month.

Check out the participants for the April (2016) Challenge.  There are plenty to choose from http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

X is for Box

Most days when I open my mailbox, I find bills or junk.  Still, there is always the hope that there will be something better.  And some days there is.  A greeting card sticks out of the letter stack or a box fills the space.  Joyous day!  Occasionally, UPS delivers boxes to our door, but mostly boxes arrive in our roadside rural mailbox. Who would think that a brown box without color or ribbons would bring such pleasure?  But it does.  Why do you think that is?

What was the best gift you ever received in the mail?  Some of my best were story acceptances for magazine publication.  Just know that lots of rejection letters arrived before the acceptances.  Even after publication, rejections come.  It’s how it is.  Keep on writing!

Tell about a gift you were excited to send.

Time to recycle by Linda Martin Andersen. Copyright 2016

Time to recycle by Linda Martin Andersen. Copyright 2016

For an earlier post featuring recyclables, check here:  https://lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/2016/04/21/r-is-for-rose-recyclables-and-remodeled-back-porch/

X is for X-Ray

Photograph of a chest x-ray

When I was a high school student,  I drove a school bus.  I took bus driver training and passed by the skin of my teeth.  That was back in the day when buses had standard transmission–shifting gears required.  A yearly physical was also required.  Drivers were lined up and a doctor listened to our hearts and x-rays were taken to rule out TB.  I teased that if our hearts were beating and we didn’t have TB, we could drive a bus.

Have you ever had an x-ray?  Was it to rule out a broken bone, part of dental visit, following an accident, or used to help diagnose a disease, etc? Have you ever seen an x-ray?  Your own?

X is for XOXO

x= kisses

o= hugs

Have you ever signed  a letter with XOXO?

Have you ever seen XOXO written on Valentine’s Day conversation hearts?

Where else have you seen XOXO?

Do you know song lyrics that include Xs and Os?

XOXO to all my followers.  Bless you one and all!

What “X” words come to mind for you? I hope you’ll share why they’re special to you.

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

18 Responses to “X is for Box, X-Ray, and XOXO”

  1. Mona said

    IT’s been fun reading through your alphabet. Thanks

  2. And for eXtra blessings from the Lord as we settle into our new home and community. I am getting through the boXes and happy to discover what I packed for myself. Little things like my refrigerator magnets and cleaning gloves make me smile! Last night I found my Bible in refrigerator bags I’d brought from Florida. Totally forgot that’s where I had packed it!

    • Carol,
      I’m so glad to hear that you are finding eXtra blessings as you unpack in your new home. Packing little things for yourself were a great way to celebrate the move. Thanks so much for the eXtra special comments you leave on a regular basis here.

  3. Dear Linda,
    In a little box in my dresser, I have a peanut I’ve saved since 1980s. I love little boxes. It’s amazing how little children enjoy playing in and with box boxes.

    Love your alphabet series!

    Joan

  4. Joan,
    Your peanut story reminds me of an old song my grandfather used to sing: “Found a Peanut.” Do you know it? I’d love to hear why you saved that peanut. Maybe there’s a story to be written based on the peanut in a box.

    Yes, kids love boxes to play in, sometimes more than the gift inside. 😉

    Thanks for letting me know you love my alphabet series. I’m so glad you have played along with me. I appreciate that very much!

  5. Have you ever met a xenophobic xylophone player? Have you ever used an X-acto knife? Have you ever felt eXtraneous or eXited through the entrance door?
    I have had x-rays and one was for a broken bone. Do you remember shoe stores having x-ray machines to measure your feet? They didn’t stay around long, when officials decided they gave off too much radiation for children to be eXposed to. But they were cool to look into. You could see all the bones in your feet.
    And, yes, Y is next to come. Thanks, Linda.

  6. Bee Halton said

    No I haven’t because up to today I didn’t know what XOXO means 🙂

  7. Capt Jill said

    Great choices for the letter X!
    I forgot all about xoxoxoxo, my grandmother used to sign off all her letters to me with that. I would always say the same to her. I hardly write real letters anymore and it just doesn’t seem the same to do that in an email (wonder why?)
    I’ve had x-rays at the dentist, seems they want to do it every time you go in there now. I think it’s excessive to take dental x-rays that often.

    • Jill, I love that my XOXO choice brought back sweet memories. I agree that something seems to be missing when you use XOXO in an email. To me, forming those letters with pen on paper is much more fun.

      My dentist does x-rays once a year. It seems to be standard practice these days.

      Thanks so much for commenting. Wishing you much success in your job search!

      • Capt Jill said

        Thanks Linda, sorry for taking so long to respond, my computer and internet situation here has been driving me INSANE. It’s getting to where I can’t even stand to be in the house anymore or I’ll start throwing things!

      • Jill, maybe you should try getting out and using free WiFi at a public library or somewhere other than home! I hope it’s fixed by now! So sorry for the inconvenience!

  8. godselfie said

    XOXO to you too Linda! Thanks for making our days from A to Z.

  9. Ok, Linda, box for X. Great stretch. You were thinking outside the box. Grin. I’ve seen X-rays of my teeth. Not a pretty picture. When texting my hubby I usually add XOXO.

    • Tracy,
      I’m glad you enjoyed the stretch when associating box with X. Thanks for saying that I’m thinking outside the box. Funny! I didn’t see that one coming. I’m not surprised to hear that you end texts to your hubby with XOXO. You are so sweet! X-rays aren’t always pretty. So often they are associated with illness/disease,which can be pretty scary. Thanks again for playing along!

Please Leave a Reply

 
