A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Pumpkins on My Mind

Posted by lindamartinandersen on October 12, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074

 

A Writer’s Playground–a place to find wordplay, writing prompts, reasons to celebrate, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart. “Pumpkins on My Mind” by Linda Martin Andersen

I’ve been noticing lots of pumpkin products for sale this fall…

When I went to mail a letter, a sign on the glass door advertised homemade pumpkin ice cream.  It’s served up by Andy, our local postmaster.  You can read your mail as you enjoy a cone.  Almost like being in Mayberry.  I like that about this place.

Recently, my niece ordered pumpkin pancakes at Cracker Barrel and raved about how good they were.  And she’s a finicky eater.  Another favorite I’ve seen on menus is pumpkin roll and of course pumpkin bread.

Most all of us are checking out the pumpkins in the grocery store or produce markets for carving, or just for decoration.  If you make homemade pumpkin pies, you’ve probably purchased pumpkin pie spices.

When I think of pumpkins, I am reminded of pumpkin patches and The Peanuts televised special, “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown.”  If you love Charles M. Schulz specials and great sized pumpkins, you’ll probably enjoy these links:

http://thefw.com/things-you-didnt-know-about-great-pumpkin/

http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/the-great-pumpkin-74423844/?no-ist

https://www.giantpumpkin.com/world_records.php

In fall, hayrides always come to my mind, especially those hosted by our family for the past ten years.  Until this year, that is.  The grandsons believe they’ve outgrown them.  Truth be told, most adults don’t seem to think they have.   The last few weeks, I gave away almost all our hayride decorations.  Thinking back on the one pictured below always brings a smile.  Although the photo doesn’t show this perfectly, the inflated pumpkin’s face is printed upside down.  No matter how we tried to hide it, the children always discovered the upside down face and turned it to the front.  It must have brought a smile to them too.  Not quite a perfect pumpkin, which most likely made it all the more fun.

Hayride 2012. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

Hayride 2012. Copyright 2016. Linda Martin Andersen

 Writing Prompts:

  • What brings a smile to your face this pumpkin season?
  • Tell about a hayride or other special fall event that you have experienced.  What made it special?
  • What are your favorite Halloween specials? Or horror movies?
  • Have you ever stuffed a scarecrow?  Tell about a time you decorated for Halloween or fall.
  • Have you ever created your own costume?  Do you remember Charlie Brown’s costume?

An aside–my thoughts and prayers go out to all who were effected by Hurricane Matthew.  I hope you’ll find a way to celebrate fall, even during this difficult time. 

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

17 Responses to “Pumpkins on My Mind”

  1. I love that it wasn’t a perfect pumpkin!!

  2. Hi Linda,
    In the grocery store here, pumpkin cheese cakes are all the rage. Pumpkins, pumpkins, everywhere.
    Your family hayride memories made me smile. Hugs ❤️

  3. Dear Linda,
    Thanks for sharing about pumpkins and your wonderful hayrides from former years. It is great that you went to great lengths to share your items with others so they can add them to use for their hayrides. I love pumpkin pies! Yummy! Just thinking about one has got my mouth watering.

    Love,
    Joan

    • Joan,
      I’m glad you enjoyed the post about pumpkins and hayrides. Thanks for complimenting me finding good homes for my hayride decorations.

      I’m glad this post reminded you of a favorite dessert. Maybe you’ll decide to buy a pumpkin pie before Thanksgiving! Yummy, is right!

      Thanks so much for commenting!

  4. Roxie said

    Linda, I was worried about you, so glad you’re ok. Yes, hearts and prayers to our fellow Carolinians suffering aftermath of hurricane Matthew.
    funny about pumpkin patches: my daughter went on a hayride with her then one-year-old, and then went into labor with her second child, (two years ago). the farm is their annual jaunt to pick out pumpkins, eat pumpkin bread, and run through the hay fields. fun!

    • Thanks for thinking of me, Roxie! I am thankful that we came through the storm with only some damage to family member’s outbuildings and a house garage. My home was nearly surrounded by water, but none got inside. Thankful all are safe here. Prayers for those who lost much.

      All those hayride experiences sound fun and memorable.

      As for going into labor on a hayride, I am thankful that never happened to one of our hayride guests, especially while holding a one-year-old.

  5. Hayrides used to bring great excitement to me, because the wagons were pulled by draft horses and I love horses. But nowadays the wagons are pulled by smelly and noisy diesel tractors, which takes the romance out of the whole experience. I especially like the horse-drawn hayride when I could drive the horses. Thanks for the memory, Linda.

    • Sarah,
      I’m so glad you reminded me of horse drawn hayrides. I’ve never been on one, but that does sound fantastic, especially as a young driver. The kids on our hayrides begged to drive too. They sat in the lap of an adult of course. Fun memories for me too. Thanks so much for commenting.

  6. Kathleen said

    Linda, I remember your wonderful stories of the hayrides you and your family had done at your home. Such wonderful memories for your children and grandchildren! When my daughter was younger we always did a fall hayride for apple and pumpkin picking. It was always something we looked forward to each fall. I treasure those memories😊 Thank you for this pumpkin post. Oh! I bake a mean pumpkin bread😊 I’ll be sending some to my daughter at college soon, as it’s her favorite!

    • Kathy,
      A mean pumpkin bread…I’m wondering if I can intercept the mail truck! 😉 Thanks for sharing that you enjoyed my earlier hayride stories. I’m glad you have so many of your own. Always great to hear from you!

  7. Lorene McBryde said

    Never have been a big fan of Halloween, but I’m all over fall colors. I love pumpkin bread. I make mine in coffee cans and give it away at Christmas. I remember the fall festivals as a child, bobbing for apples and filling up on cider. No moderation there! Growing up on the west coast of Florida, hayrides weren’t part of our lives, but I bet they were fun. Thanks for sharing!

    • Lorene,
      Happy fall colors to you! Thanks for sharing your childhood memories of fall events. They sounded fun. Just so you know…you’re never too old to try a local hayride. Sorry, I can’t invite you to one here this year. Others are around! Maybe you, Milo, and the soon-to-arrive grandchild can experience this one year soon. Think on it.

      I love the idea of baking pumpkin bread in coffee cans and giving it as gifts. Smart lady!

      Thanks for commenting!

  8. godselfie said

    How are you Linda? Wishing you and your family God’s love, joy, peace and good health in the New Year. Love and prayers from Ben and Renee

Please Leave a Reply

 
