A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Who’s Coming to Town?

Posted by lindamartinandersen on August 2, 2016


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074

 

A Writer’s Playground–a place to find wordplay, writing prompts, reasons to celebrate, and monthly calendar activities for kids and those young at heart
“Who’s Coming to Town?” by Linda Martin Andersen

In summer, many families travel to visit relatives or vacation out-of-town.  This summer, an author friend is coming to town.  She was invited to do a book signing at Ft. Bragg, NC.  I hope you can stop by to see her and check out her latest book, as well as some short stories.

Who is this author who is coming to town? 

Sandra Warren. 

When is Sandra Warren’s book signing? 

Friday, August 5, 2016 from 9:00 am – 4:00 pm and

Saturday, August 6, 2016 from 9:00 am – 12:00 am.

We Bought a WWII Bomber

 

Where is Sandra Warren’s book signing?

At the PX

 5050 Butner Rd, Fort Bragg, NC 28307  

Sandra Warren will be signing copies of We Bought A WWII Bomber, Hidden Casualties: Battles On The Home Front and When Duty Called: Even Grandma Had To GO.  Watch a book trailer here:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zUmxqhIpadI

Hidden Casualties and When Duty Called are nurses stories about serving in Desert Storm.
 
Sandra Warren didn’t stop here.  She found a way to turn her research and photos into another format.  See here:

http://sandrawarrenwrites.blogspot.com/2016/05/got-left-over-research-photos-put-them.html

Sandra Warren also shared how to create a book trailer.  See here:

http://sandrawarrenwrites.blogspot.com/2016/01/book-trailers-made-easy.html

Come out and meet Sandra Warren.  You’ll be glad you did.  If you don’t live in the area, Amazon carries these and more titles in various genres.  See here:

https://www.amazon.com/Sandra-Warren/e/B00L4BPF2M/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1470137498&sr=1-2-ent

Everyone knows that one of teachers’ favorite back-to-school writing prompts is:  What did you do over summer vacation?

If I were writing in response to this prompt, I’d tell about Sandra Warren, the author who came to town.  Here are other prompts for you to consider.

Writing Prompts:

  1. Who came to visit you this summer or who did you visit?
  2. Write interview questions for a favorite relative.  Ask the person to respond.
  3. What family projects did you do this summer?
  4. What tips can you pass along on how to keep cool?
  5. What books did you read for pleasure?  Tell about them.
  6. How would you organize a book review panel?

Thank you for visiting “A Writer’s Playground.”  Come again soon and bring a friend. Please leave a comment.  Remember that children 13 and under need an adult to comment for them.  For more fun, sign up to follow my blog.  Thank you!

25 Responses to “Who’s Coming to Town?”

  1. sandra214 said

    Oh my goodness, Linda! What a wonderful post. Thank you so much for sharing my upcoming book signing at Ft. Bragg. You’re the best!

  2. Such a nice post, Linda. Have fun with Sandra!! She’ll give a great presentation. I know– I saw it in Florida!

    • Carol,
      I’m glad you enjoyed the post. It’s easy to share a post about Sandra. She’s accomplished so much with her writing. I was told this is a book signing without a presentation. Still, Sandra will keep it lively! Thanks for commenting. You’re such a good and loyal support. I appreciate you.

    • sandra214 said

      Thank you Carol! NC writers are so supportive. I feel like the luckiest transplant around.

  3. Jinnette said

    Love your blog! This lady author’s works sound fascinating! Luv, Jinnette❤️

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Jinnette,
      Sandra is awesome. I hope you get a chance to check out her work. Thanks for commenting and for following my blog.

    • sandra214 said

      Thank you Jinnette for the kind words. The stories are fascinating especially because they’re true! I had the best time writing all three of them. I’ve learned so much about the Persian Gulf War, military custody battles and WWII bombers. Being a write is an awesome thing!

  4. Dear Linda,
    Hurray for Sandra! How great that she’s coming to town.

    Sandra, you have written a great book with a compelling story about people coming together to help during WWIi. Thanks for doing that.

    Never Give Up
    Joan

  5. sandra214 said

    Again, my thanks to Joan & Linda. I’m thrilled to finally have been cleared to sell books at military bases and I’ve very excited to do my very first book signing at Fort Bragg. Now, if I can pass clearance for a Day Pass to get on base, I’ll be home free. The legal documents required are amazing: driver’s license plus another photo ID (passport), original not laminated Social Security Card and a copy of the first page of your car insurance not only proving you have insurance but showing what the coverage you have. Whew! I had no idea until visiting a winery on the weekend with neighbors. The neighbor is working at Camp Lejeune. He shared the process. Without him, I would have shown up, over three hours drive from my home, and NOT been able to get on base. (The MAN UPSTAIRS takes care of me even when I don’t know I need it. 🙂 )

    Oh the challenges of marketing your book/s! Nothing is easy or as simple as you think it will be. Here’s to life’s challenges!

  6. Hi Linda, so glad to see you promoting others…as always. Hugs ❤

  7. Kathleen said

    Linda, thank you for sharing this news about Sandra’s book signing at Fort Bragg. How wonderful Sandra! I’m sure they enjoyed hearing about Michigan’s South High School and the WWII bomber. And how cool to have security clearance-and what a blessing your friend was able to give you information of what you would need!. 🙂

    • Kathy,
      Thanks for joining the celebration for Sandra’s invitation to Ft. Bragg. I enjoyed spending time with her at my home too!

    • sandra214 said

      Thanks for you comments Kathleen. As authors we have to keep seeking unusual places to promote our work. Going to a military base was on my list since my bomber story involves the military during WWII. It took awhile to get a Vendor’s Code but now I’m legal to promote at any military facility. I’ll still have to get a pass at each place but that’s easy compared to getting the Vendor Code. Strangely, I never thought to go to a military base when the two biographies of nurses that served in the Persian Gulf War/Desert Storm, came out. I brought them along on this trip and sold them also. Being at Fort Bragg reinforced my pride in our armed services.

      Linda was a gracious host. I enjoyed the entire experience.

  8. sandra214 said

    Kathleen, You need to go to the military bases also. Vets and their families will be fascinated with your story. Give me a call and I’ll walk you through the process.

  9. Roxie said

    Sounds like Sandra has great books, and helpful info on her blog. Thanks for pointing to her resources, bet the book signing was FUN!

Please Leave a Reply

 
