A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2016 Linda Martin Andersen.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Linda Martin Andersen is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Linda Martin Andersen
    with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Have You Ever Found a Lost Shoe? Book Giveaway!

Posted by lindamartinandersen on November 8, 2014


A Writer's Playground Fotosearch_u17996074

“Have You Ever Found a Lost Shoe?  Book Giveaway!”

Have you ever found a shoe when walking to the playground, riding down the road, walking on the beach, or somewhere else?  Not a pair of shoes, but one shoe?  One lone lost sole?  I have and I’m pretty sure you have too. I know someone who is on the lookout for lost shoes every day.  She takes pictures of them, and guess what…she has even written a book about them. Today, I’m honored to introduce this special lady to you. Please help me welcome Jennifer Larson, author of Lost Soles.  Let’s give her a shoe-tongue flapping, double-knot tieing “Writer’s Playground” welcome.  And here’s Jennifer…

securedownload[2] (3)

 

 

 

 

Thanks for having me here today.  My inspiration for Lost Soles began when I started noticing lone shoes in random places. There’d be a sandal in the median, a flip flop on the sidewalk, or a sneaker on the side of  the road.

 

Image 5Image 1

 

I began photographing these lone shoes ten years ago, creating a portfolio of boots, heels, cleats, and more.

Image 7                                   Image 13

I’ve even found a slipper. Then I started to wonder how these shoes had come to rest alone in such odd places. Where was their mate? How did they get separated from their other half?And that’s when I decided to tell the children’s story of a pair of flip flops, Flip and Flop, that get separated from each other after a day at the beach. Flip flies off the beach cart and gets left behind. He then embarks on a journey to find his way home in hopes of reuniting with his “sole mate.”

 

I decided to self-publish, and after two years and a lot of hard work, my first children’s picture book, Lost Soles, is coming out and will be available on amazon.com.FINAL COVER September 30 copy - Version 3 (2)

 

Over the years, I’ve photographed more than 100 lone shoes. I’m always on the lookout for the next one. If you have a lost sole find and want to share, please visit my website www.authorjenniferlarson.com. I love receiving photographs of lost soles from everywhere. And to keep up with my latest find, follow my blog at www.authorjenniferlarson.blogspot.com.

Jennifer, thanks for joining us today.  Love the book cover and story idea. 

Readers:   Jennifer is offering a free copy of Lost Soles to some lucky person who leaves a comment here by November 15.  The winner will be announced at “A Writer’s Playground” shortly afterwards. 

Don’t you love Jennifer’s way of taking cast off items and making them something special?  Show your admiration by visiting her photos and blog and by commenting here.  Thanks for visiting. Come again and bring a friend. 

Children 13 years old or older may leave a comment. Read more about the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act. (COPPA) See: http://www.coppa.org/coppa.htm

25 Responses to “Have You Ever Found a Lost Shoe? Book Giveaway!”

  1. Dear Linda,
    Thank you for interviewing Jennifer Larson. She is one of my favorite people. I love her capturing the soul of the missing soles of shoes. I hope that many people will upload pictures of shoes they find along life’s paths. Congratulations on your wonderful idea, Jennifer. I’d be honored to win a copy of your book.

    Linda and Jennifer, I look forward to seeing you at the next SCBWI-Carolinas conference.

    Celebrate you now.
    Never Give Up
    Joan

  2. This was a fun post Linda. Jennifer, I wish you much success with your new book. I’m sure children will love your new,and unusual subject matter. It looks like you touch on tender emotion also. If you need a review, contact me for discussion.

  3. It is so fascinating, Jennifer, to think about each cast off shoe and who it belonged to. The picture book sounds like a fun book.
    I wonder if you have considered a photo book of lost soles/souls?

    Best wishes and congratulations on the publication of the new book!

    • Janis,
      Thanks for sharing a great idea with Jennifer. Yes, this topic does make us wonder about who, what, when, and why. Maybe more. Great to hear from you Janis. Thanks for congratulating Jennifer. She deserves it.

    • Janis,
      Funny you should mention a photo book. I made a personal one through shutterfly, but you mention an interesting twist–wondering about how to “pair” the lost souls to the lost soles. 🙂
      Jen

  4. Hi Linda…what a super post! Jennifer, I often see a slew of shoes hanging over hydro lines and I often wondered how and why they were thrown up there. What a cool idea to turn your idea into a book. I love the cover as well. I’ll be sure to check out your site. And you know me Linda, I’d love to win a copy of Jennifer’s book. Enjoy the rest of your weekend. 🙂

  5. Linda,
    I love the post! Thank you so much for taking the time to highlight me.
    Much appreciated!
    Jen

  6. Yes, Jennifer I am sure of that.

  7. I would love to win this book–my grandkids would love it! What a fun idea for a book!

  8. Kathleen said

    Linda, so great that you highlighted Jennifer’s lost soles. I have been followng her blog/pictures and it always makes me smile. Jennifer best of luck on LOST SOLES!

  9. Susan Williams said

    Jennifer
    This is a great idea for a book. I love the cover, too. I always wondered how people lost these shoes and why they didn’t bother to stop and pick them up. I will check out your blog. Good luck with your book.

    Linda,
    Hope you and Scott and still getting along well.

Please Leave a Reply

 
